全球大流行可以改变我们的优先事项。 尽管在COVID之前的世界中,某些工人每周只能进行一次或两次远程工作,但远程工作已越来越成为一种规范。

精灵已经掉了。 唯一剩下的问题是,一旦有了有效的疫苗并且社会隔离已经成为过去,工作世界将是什么样。

在几个月前的《哈佛商业评论》调查中,超过75%的企业高管表示,他们希望与COVID之前的水平相比,远程工作将有所增加。 将近三分之二的受访者表示,所进行的工作至少与大流行前的表现一样好;有44%的受访者表示,一旦对技术进行必要的投资,生产率就会提高。

这就是现在的在家工作(WFH)的样子。 但是,随时随地或WFA工作正在成为一种新趋势。 这是工人可以在任何地方生活和工作的地方; 在该州的不同地区,美国甚至另一个国家。

考虑一下这可以给小型企业或初创企业带来的力量。 无论他们住在哪里,都可以聘用最优秀的人才。 由于经济蓬勃发展,仅七个月前就无法获得的顶尖人才可以为您工作,无论他们身在何处。 他们不需要出售房屋,让孩子连根拔起或改变生活。

这为我们进入经济复苏阶段创造了一些令人兴奋的可能性,同时也带来了一些挑战。

散布的空间。 或搬出去。

如果您的员工遍布整个州,国家或世界各地,您真的需要所有办公空间吗? 还是任何办公空间? 如果您想要某种类型的总部(可能有酒店空间),是否需要在高租金地区? 还是在办公空间充裕且价格便宜的较小社区中居住?

世界上最好的人才。

这可能是真正的游戏规则改变者。 在大型都会中心,很难找到优秀的人才,因为他们已经为您的竞争对手服务。 在农村社区,很难找到顶级人才,因为所有工作机会都在大城市。 WFA将成为员工想要的新福利。 在考虑自己的业务时,请问以下问题:

  • 您需要/能够提供什么技术?
  • “办公时间”有多灵活?
  • 如果该职位可以在家中工作,您/您将提供哪种津贴来支付与公用事业,互联网,电话等相关的额外费用?
  • 您如何将新角色整合到公司的文化和团队中?
  • 工人的权衡是什么? 最近的一项研究发现,人们愿意放弃 他们工资的8% 有机会在家工作。 他们会选择什么去在任何地方工作,特别是当生活费用差异很大时?

一切都与连接有关。

与远程工作者连接是一回事。 他们与世界其他地方的联系是另一个。 在过去,雇主给候选人进行打字测试以衡量他们的速度和准确性。 在WFA世界中,新的测试将是Internet速度。 带宽和连通性将成为一切。 在为公司制定“从任何地方工作”策略时,候选人的联系方式可能会成为新的打字测试。

照照镜子。

如果您的管理风格无法领导远程员工,那么世界上所有的技术和生产力都将无济于事。 如果您的管理风格很实用,那么WFA可能对您不起作用。 每周值机帮助。 但是,您需要诚实对待自己是否具备管理不仅仅来自您自己的员工队伍的个性,技能和思维方式。 如果您不能更改自己的管理风格,那么甚至不尝试尝试WFA。

在考虑“随处工作”业务模型时,请考虑从早期开拓者那里汲取的教训。 这些是他们的建议:

  • 准备赋予员工真正的自主权和灵活性。 与其管理员工,不如管理他们的工作,而是提供明确的期望,可交付成果,期限和反馈。
  • 采用一套标准的工具和技术。 没有标准,最终将导致混乱和生产力损失。
  • 考虑使用本地合作空间或其他协作空间,以允许特定地理位置的员工聚集和协作。 确保在运营预算中考虑这些空间的成本。
  • 制定关键任务和能力。 忘记谁在做什么。 而是考虑您的业务需要哪些任务和职责。 承包商可以在外部做什么? 内部需要做什么? 您如何管理这些活动的效率?
  • 进行成本和收益分析,看是否有实际的节省。 考虑直接和间接成本,包括员工福利。 另外,对独立承包商与雇员问题进行尽职调查,这样就不会违反州和联邦的定义和处罚。
  • 注意工作场所文化。 面对面的互动可以产生新的想法,这对于创新和成长至关重要。 您如何补偿那些自发的面对面的时刻?

尽管没有人希望经济崩溃,但这确实创造了一个机会,可以退后一步,重新考虑您的业务及其运营。 “随处工作”是您可以添加到武器库中的另一种武器。 甚至可能是无法最好地击败您的竞争对手的链接,后者仍然被锁定在过去,在一个可能永远不再相同的世界中做同样的事情。

谁知道? 当您使用不仅仅限于通勤的人才流时,它将您的业务提升到一个新的水平。 它可以为您甚至从未想到过的COVID开辟新的大门和新的机会。

在翡翠城以北的某个地方,正在我的家中工作,想知道下一步工作将带我去哪里,

  • 罗伯

A global pandemic has a way of changing our priorities. While remote working was a once or twice a week option for some workers in a pre-COVID world, it has increasingly become the norm.

The genie is out of the bottle. The only question that remains is what will the working world look like once an effective vaccine is available and social distancing becomes a thing of the past.

In a Harvard Business Review survey a few months ago, more than 75% of business executives said they expect remote working will increase compared to pre-COVID levels. Nearly two-thirds of respondents said the work being performed was at least as good as it was before the pandemic, and 44% noticed an increase in productivity once they made the necessary investments in technology.

This is what Working From Home (WFH) looks like right now. But a new trend is on the horizon, Working From Anywhere, or WFA. This is where a worker can live and work anywhere; in a different part of the state, the U.S. or even another country.

Think about the power this can give a small business or startup. You can hire the best and brightest regardless of where they live. Top talent that was impossible to get just seven months ago because of the booming economy can work for you no matter where they live. They don’t need to sell their house, uproot the kids or change their lives.

This creates some exciting possibilities as we enter the economic recovery phase as well as a few challenges.

Space to spread out. Or move out.

If your employees are spread out all over the state, country or the world, do you really need all that office space? Or any office space, for that matter? If you want some type of headquarters, perhaps with hotel spaces, does it need to be in the high rent district? Or can it be in a smaller community where office space is plentiful and less expensive?

The best talent anywhere.

This could be a real game-changer. In larger metropolitan centers, it’s tough to find good talent because they already work for your competitor. In rural communities, it’s tough to find top-tier talent because all the job opportunities are in the big cities. WFA is going to be the new perk employees will want. As you think about it for your own business, ask these questions:

  • What technology would you need/be able to provide?
  • How flexible can “office hours” be?
  • If the position can work from home, what kind of stipend can you/will you offer to cover additional costs related to utilities, Internet, phone, etc.?
  • How will you integrate the new role into the company’s culture and teams?
  • What are the trade outs for workers? A recent study found that people are willing to give up as much as 8% of their pay for the opportunity to work from home. What would they trade out to work anywhere, especially when the cost of living differential can be significant?

It’s all about the connection.

Connecting with a remote worker is one thing. Their connection with the rest of the world is another. In the old days, employers gave candidates typing tests to gauge their speed and accuracy. In a WFA world, the new test will be Internet speed. Bandwidth and connectivity will be everything. As you formulate a Working From Anywhere strategy for your company, a candidate’s connectivity may become the new typing test.

Take a good look in the mirror.

All the technology and productivity in the world isn’t going to do any good if your management style can’t lead a remote workforce. If your management style is hands on, WFA may not work for you. Weekly check-ins help. But you need to be honest with yourself as to whether you have the personality, skills and mindset to manage a workforce that is not just down the hall from you. If you can’t change your management style, you might as well not even try to give WFA a try.

As you think about a Working From Anywhere business model, factor in the lessons learned from early trailblazers. These are their suggestions:

  • Be ready to grant genuine autonomy and flexibility to your workers. Instead of managing workers, manage their work instead, offering clear expectations, deliverables, deadlines and feedback.
  • Adopt a standard set of tools and technologies. Without standards, you’ll end up with chaos and a loss of productivity.
  • Consider using local coworking spaces or other collaborative spaces that allow employees in a particular geographic location to gather and collaborate. Make sure you factor in the cost of these spaces in your operations budget.
  • Map out your critical tasks and competencies. Forget who does what right now. Think instead about what tasks and responsibilities are needed for your business. What can be done externally by contractors? What needs to be done in-house? How do you manage the efficiency of these activities?
  • Do a cost and benefits analysis to see if there are actual savings. Factor in the direct and indirect costs, including things like employee benefits. Also, perform due diligence on the independent contractor vs. employee issue so you don’t run afoul of state and federal definitions and penalties.
  • Pay attention to workplace culture. Face-to-face interaction can spawn new ideas can be critical to innovation and growth. How do you compensate for those spontaneous in-person moments?

While no one wished for an economic meltdown, it does create an opportunity to step back and reconsider your business and its operations. Working From Anywhere is yet another weapon you can add to your arsenal. It may even be the missing link in being able to best your competitor, who is still locked in the past, doing the same ol’, same ol’ in a world that may never be the same again.

Who knows? It make take your business to a new level as you tap into a stream of talent that isn’t limited to a convenient commute. It could open new doors and new opportunities you never even dreamed of pre-COVID.

Somewhere north of the Emerald City, working out of my home, wondering where the work will take me next,

  • Robb
Translate »