الدرس الخامس: الهياكل التجارية

ماذا ستتعلم: يعد اختيار هيكل العمل الصحيح أحد أهم القرارات التي يمكنك اتخاذها عند بدء عمل تجاري ، لأنه يؤثر على التزاماتك الضريبية ، والتعرض القانوني ، وربما على أصولك الشخصية. لا تقلق ، فالأمر ليس معقدًا كما يبدو وسنأخذك عبر الخيارات جنبًا إلى جنب مع مزايا وعيوب كل منها.

الهياكل التجارية

"الأعمال الكبيرة تبدأ صغيرة."

السير ريتشارد برانسون              

المُقدّمة

قبل أن تصل إلى نقطة تعليق تسجيل الدخول "Open for Business" من الأمام ، عليك أن تقرر الهيكل الذي سيكون عملك عليه. لكل منها مزاياها وعيوبها المتعلقة بالضرائب والمسؤولية والإعسار والإيداع والإبلاغ.

هذا البرنامج التعليمي ليس شاملاً بأي حال من الأحوال ولا نقوم بأي محاولة لتقديم المشورة أو التوصيات. كل عمل مختلف ، مثل المالك أو المشغلين. على هذا النحو ، فأنت تريد حقًا التشاور مع محامٍ أو مرشد أو محاسب قانوني معتمد للحصول على تعامل أفضل مع الهيكل الذي يناسب احتياجاتك ووضعك بشكل أفضل. يمكن للمحامي مساعدتك في القيام بجميع الإيداعات اللازمة للتأكد من أنك قد غطيت جميع القواعد مع وكالات المدينة والمقاطعة والولاية والوكالات الفيدرالية.

كيف تبدأ

كل هيكل عمل له مميزاته وعيوبه. فيما يلي نظرة عامة سريعة.

ضع في اعتبارك أنك لست عالقًا مع الخيار الأولي الذي تقوم به. أصبحت العديد من الشركات الفردية عبارة عن شراكة أو شركة ذات مسؤولية محدودة أو شركة مع مرور السنين وتغير احتياجات الشركة. ومع ذلك ، سترغب في التفكير في هذا الأمر لأن التكلفة الإضافية والأعمال الورقية لتغيير الهياكل يمكن أن تستغرق وقتًا طويلاً.

المسؤولية القانونية. تعرضك الهياكل المختلفة لمستويات مختلفة من المسؤولية الشخصية والمهنية في حالة رفع دعوى قضائية عليك أو إفلاس الشركة. سترغب في مراعاة ظروفك الخاصة عند التفكير في أفضل هيكل لمشروعك الجديد.

الآثار المترتبة على الضرائب. يجب دفع الضرائب مهما كان الأمر. السؤال الحقيقي هو كيف يتم الإبلاغ عنها وما هي المزايا الضريبية التي يتم تقديمها ضمن هيكل أعمال معين. عادة ما تحصل الشركات على إعفاءات ضريبية أفضل من الشركات الفردية أو الشراكات.

الإدارة: تتطلب الشركات مزيدًا من حفظ السجلات والأعمال الورقية مقارنة بالهياكل الأخرى ، وهذا هو السبب في أن العديد من أصحاب الأعمال الجدد يختارون الملكية الفردية أو الشراكة أو الشركة ذات المسؤولية المحدودة لهيكلهم.

الاحتياجات المستقبلية: من الأسهل كثيرًا شراء منزل إذا قمت بالتأسيس ، نظرًا لأنك تعتبر موظفًا في الشركة ، وبالتالي يكون لديك دخل يمكن التحقق منه في شكل سحوبات وراتب. يحجم بعض المقرضين عن إقراض ملكية فردية لأن أصول الشركة والمالك متشابكة بإحكام. يمكن للمؤسسة أيضًا تبسيط نقل الشركة إلى أفراد العائلة وتسهيل جمع الأموال عن طريق بيع أسهم الأسهم.

بغض النظر عن الهيكل الذي تختاره ، ستحتاج إلى اتباع نفس الخطوات لتسجيل عملك في البداية. قد يؤدي عدم تنفيذ أي من هذه الخطوات أو عدم تنفيذها بالترتيب الصحيح إلى حدوث تأخيرات. الخطوتان 5 و 6 خاصة بالصناعة ولن تنطبق على جميع الشركات.

فيما يلي الخطوات الثماني التي تتطلبها الدولة لإنشاء وتشغيل الأعمال التجارية:

  1. البحث ووضع خطة
  2. سجل عملك لدى وزير الخارجية (SOS)
  3. ترخيص عملك مع دائرة الإيرادات (DOR)
  4. قم بالإبلاغ عن موظفيك الجدد إلى إدارة الخدمات الاجتماعية والصحية (DSHS)
  5. التقدم بطلب للحصول على تصريح موزع لدى دائرة الإيرادات (DOR)
  6. سجل كمقاول في وزارة العمل والصناعة (L&I)
  7. اتصل بقسم الصحة المحلي للحصول على متطلبات مناولة الطعام
  8. تحقق مع مدينتك و / أو مقاطعتك بشأن متطلباتهما

 

دعنا ننتقل إلى الهياكل المختلفة ، بدءًا من أبسطها ، وهي الملكية الفردية.

مدرب الخاصة بك

مادو ك.سينغ هو المؤسس والرئيس القانوني لمجموعة Foundry Law Group. تتمتع مادو وفريقها بتنمية الشركة من خلال تمكين الشركات من التنظيم وحماية أصولها التجارية والملكية الفكرية. تشغل حاليًا منصب رئيس TIE Seattle ، وهي منظمة محلية غير ربحية تركز على تعزيز ريادة الأعمال في منطقة سياتل الكبرى. بالإضافة إلى ممارستها ، فهي في سنتها الثامنة بصفتها كلية مساعدة في عيادة تنمية المجتمع وريادة الأعمال في كلية الأعمال / القانون بجامعة سياتل. في أوقات فراغها ، تشرف على مجموعات من المحامين الذين يقدمون المشورة للمنظمات غير الربحية الجديدة ، والمتطوعين كمستشارين في عيادات المشاريع الصغيرة المحلية ، ويوجهون الشركات الناشئة الناشئة في برامج المسرعات.

نسخة مطبوعة رقمية

Lesson 5: Business Structures

What You’ll Learn: Choosing the right business structure is one of the most important decisions you can make as you start a business, since it affects your tax liabilities, legal exposure, and potentially, your personal assets. Don’t worry, it’s not as complex as it seems and we’ll take you through the options along with the advantages and disadvantages of each.

Business Structures

“A big business starts small.”

Sir Richard Branson              

Introduction

Before you ever get to the point of hanging an “Open for Business” sign out front, you need to decide what structure your business is going to be. Each has its own advantages and disadvantages related to taxation, liability, insolvency, filings and reporting.

This tutorial is by no means all-inclusive nor do we make any attempt to offer advice or recommendations. Every business is different, as is the owner or operators. As such, you really want to consult with an attorney, mentor or CPA to get a better handle on which structure suits your needs and situation best. An attorney can help you do all the necessary filings to make sure you’ve covered all the bases with city, county, state and federal agencies.

Getting Started

Each business structure has its advantages and disadvantages. Following is a quick overview.

Keep in mind that you’re not stuck with the initial choice you make. Many sole proprietorships have become a partnership, LLC or corporation as the years go by and the needs of the company change. Still, you’ll want to give this some thought as the additional cost and paperwork of changing structures can be time-consuming.

Legal liability. Different structures expose you to different levels of personal and professional liability in the event you are sued or the business becomes insolvent. You will want to factor in your own circumstances when considering the best structure for your new enterprise.

Tax implications. Taxes have to be paid no matter what. The real question is how they are reported and what tax benefits are offered within a particular business structure. Corporations typically get better tax breaks than sole proprietorships or partnerships.

Administration: Corporations require more record-keeping and paperwork compared to other structures, which is why many new business owners choose the sole proprietorship, partnership or limited liability corporation for their structure.

Future needs: It’s a lot easier to purchase a home if you incorporate, as you are considered an employee of the business and as such, have verifiable income in the form of draws and salary. Some lenders are reluctant to lend to a sole proprietorship because the assets of the business and the owner are so tightly interwoven. A corporation can also simplify the transfer of the business to family members and make it easier to raise funds by selling shares of stock.

Regardless of the structure you choose, you will need to follow the same steps to register your business initially. Missing any of these steps or not doing them in the correct order can cause delays. Steps 5 & 6 are industry-specific and won’t apply to all businesses.

Here are the eight steps the state requires to set up and operate a business:

  1. Research and make a plan
  2. Register your business with the Secretary of State (SOS)
  3. License your business with the Department of Revenue (DOR)
  4. Report your new employees to the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS)
  5. Apply for a Reseller Permit with the Department of Revenue (DOR)
  6. Register as a contractor with Department of Labor & Industries (L&I)
  7. Contact your local health department for food handling requirements
  8. Check with your City and/or County for their requirements

 

Let’s move on to the various structures, starting with the most basic, the Sole Proprietorship.

Your Instructor

Madhu K. Singh is the founder and Chief Legal Officer at Foundry Law Group. Madhu and her team enjoy growing the firm by empowering businesses to get organized and protect their business assets and intellectual property. She currently serves as President of TIE Seattle, a local nonprofit focused on fostering entrepreneurship in the Greater Seattle Area. In addition to her practice, she is in her eighth year as Adjunct Faculty at the Community Development and Entrepreneurship Clinic at Seattle University School of Business/Law. In her spare time, she supervises cohorts of attorneys advising new nonprofits, volunteers as an advisor to local microenterprise clinics and mentors emerging startups in accelerators programs.

Download this Lesson

Translate »