الدرس الثاني: بدء عمل مسؤول

ماذا ستتعلم: المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات هي ممارسة أعمال متطورة تدمج التنمية المستدامة في نموذج أعمال الشركة. لم يعد يكفي أن تحقق الشركات ربحًا بعد الآن. يرغب عملاء اليوم في التعامل مع الشركات التي تظهر أيضًا مواطنة جيدة للشركات. ستوجهك هذه الوحدة خلال عملية إنشاء عمل تجاري له هدف ومهمة اجتماعية.

بدء عمل مسؤول

"يستغرق بناء سمعة طيبة 20 عامًا وخمس دقائق لتدميرها".

بنيامين فرانكلين

المُقدّمة

في أيام بارونات الأخشاب وأقطاب الصلب ، كان كسب المال هو الهدف الأساسي والوحيد في كثير من الأحيان لأي مؤسسة. لقد تغير الزمن بالتأكيد. المزيد والمزيد من الموظفين و يرغب العملاء في إقامة علاقة مع شركة ذات غرض أعلى ، شيء مرتبط بقضية اجتماعية مهمة مثل البيئة أو الجوع أو التشرد أو الإنصاف أو العدالة الاجتماعية.

يبدو أن جيل الألفية يقود زمام المبادرة في إعادة تنظيم ممارسات المستهلك مع القيم الشخصية وأخلاقيات العمل. أظهرت دراسة أجراها مركز بيو للأبحاث أن 75٪ من القوى العاملة ستتألف من جيل الألفية بحلول عام 2025. وأظهرت دراسة ثانية أن 64٪ من هذا الجيل لن يقبلوا وظيفة في شركة ليس لديها قيم قوية للمسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات. يمكن للمرء أن يفترض بأمان أن لديهم وجهة نظر مماثلة عندما يتعلق الأمر بعادات الإنفاق لديهم.

كيف يمكن لمشروع تجاري جديد أن يُحدث فرقًا ويحقق المال في نفس الوقت؟ باتاغونيا مثال ممتاز. منذ عام 1985 ، تعهدت الشركة بنسبة 1٪ من المبيعات للحفاظ على البيئة الطبيعية واستعادتها. هذا هو أكثر من 89 مليون دولار من التبرعات النقدية والعينية للمجموعات الشعبية المحلية والدولية مقابل ما يقرب من 1 مليار دولار في المبيعات السنوية.

في الواقع ، كانت بعض الأفكار الأكثر روعة في مجال الأعمال عبارة عن تحسينات تدريجية بدلاً من ظهور مفاجئ في جوف الليل.

تحديد مؤسسة الغرض الاجتماعي

تعتبر فكرة مؤسسة الأغراض الاجتماعية (SPC) جديدة نسبيًا في ولاية واشنطن ، وأصبحت قانونًا في عام 2012. ويشار إليها أحيانًا باسم "الحد الأدنى الثلاثي". عندما أنشأ المجلس التشريعي SPCs ، وضعوا قائمة بالأغراض التي تترجم تقريبًا إلى هذه المجموعات الأربع:

  • بيئي
  • إحسان
  • ممارسات العمل الأخلاقية
  • تطوع

مدرب الخاصة بك

شون مور هي مديرة برنامج مركز واشنطن للمرأة في الأعمال التجارية. أمضى 18 عامًا في العمل في قطاع التجزئة مع خبرة متخصصة في رياضات الحركة والصناعات الخارجية. خلال تلك الفترة ، اكتسب شون الكفاءة في التسويق عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والترويج المرئي ومراقبة المخزون. 

نسخة مطبوعة رقمية

بصفتها مؤسسة ذات أغراض اجتماعية ، يمكن لمديري المنظمة تقييم الغرض الاجتماعي المحدد والنظر فيه قبل اتخاذ القرارات ، حتى لو أدى ذلك إلى انخفاض العائد المالي للمساهمين. يتمتع المديرون بالحماية القانونية في الحالات التي يقررون فيها اختيار التأثير البيئي أو الاجتماعي على المكاسب الاقتصادية.

على الجانب الإيجابي ، يوضح هذا الشكل من الشركات لعملائك ما تمثله. من السهل نسبيًا تشكيله ، حتى لو كنت حاليًا شركة S أو C وتريد التحويل إلى هيكل شركة Social Purpose Corporation. بصفتك شركة SPC ، من الأسهل جذب المستثمرين الذين يحبون التفكير ، ويتم إنشاء الأعمال التجارية مع وضع المدى الطويل في الاعتبار. من الصعب على المساهمين رفع دعوى قضائية لأن الغرض له الأسبقية على الأرباح. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال للمساهمين رأي في تحديد مهمة الشركة ، لذلك هناك قدر كبير من المشاركة في اتجاه الشركة منذ البداية.

على الجانب السلبي ، لا تزال في مأزق لجميع ضرائب المبيعات والاستخدام ، تمامًا مثل الشركة. إذا كان هناك مساهمون معارضون يريدون الخروج ، فستحتاج إلى صرف أموالهم ، لذلك ستحتاج إلى التأكد من أن توقعاتك المالية تأخذ هذا في الاعتبار.

Lesson 2: Starting a Responsible Business

What You’ll Learn: Corporate social responsibility is an evolving business practice that incorporates sustainable development into a company’s business model. It is not enough for companies to generate a profit anymore. Today’s customers want to do business with companies that also demonstrate good corporate citizenship. This module will walk you through the process of creating a business that has a social purpose and mission.

Starting a Responsible Business

“It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it.”

Benjamin Franklin

Introduction

In the days of timber barons and steel magnates, making money was the primary and often only purpose of any enterprise. Times have certainly changed. More and more, employees and customers want to forge a relationship with a company that has a higher purpose, something tied to an important social cause such as the environment, hunger, homelessness, equity or social justice.

Millennials seem to be leading the charge in this realignment of consumer practices with personal values and work ethics. A Pew Research Center study showed that 75% of the workforce will be composed of millennials by 2025. A second study showed that 64% of this generation wouldn’t accept a job at a company that didn’t have strong corporate social responsibility values. One can safely assume they have a similar view when it comes to their spending habits.

How can a new business make a difference and money at the same time? Patagonia is an excellent example. Since 1985 the company has pledged 1% of sales to the preservation and restoration of the natural environment. That’s more than $89 million in cash and in-kind donations to domestic and international grassroots groups against nearly $1 billion in annual sales.

Indeed, some of the most incredible ideas in business have been incremental improvements rather than a sudden epiphany in the dead of night.

A Social Purpose Corporation Defined

The idea of a Social Purpose Corporation (SPC) is relatively new in Washington State, becoming law in 2012. It is sometimes referred to as a “triple bottom line.” When the legislature created SPCs, they made the list of purposes that roughly translate into these four buckets:

  • Environmental
  • Philanthropy
  • Ethical Labor Practices
  • Volunteering

Your Instructor

Sean Moore is the Program Director of the Washington Center for Women in Business. He has spent 18 years working in the retail sector with specialized experience in the action sports and outdoor industries. During that period, Sean has gained proficiency in social media marketing, visual merchandising and inventory control. 

Download this Lesson

As a Social Purpose Corporation, the directors of the organization can weigh and consider the designated social purpose before making decisions, even if it results in a lower financial return to shareholders. Directors are legally protected in instances where they decide to choose environmental or social impact over economic gain.

On the plus side, this form of corporation makes it clear to your customers what you stand for. It is relatively easy to form, even if you’re currently an S or C Corp that wants to convert to a Social Purpose Corporation structure. As an SPC, it’s easier to attract investors who are liked minded, and the formed business is built with the long term in mind. It’s difficult for shareholders to mount a lawsuit since the purpose takes precedence over profits. Still, shareholders do have a say in determining the corporation’s mission, so there is a substantial amount of buy-in to the direction of the company from the get-go.

On the downside, you’re still on the hook for all sales and use taxes, just as a corporation is. If there are dissenting shareholders who want out, you’ll need to cash them out, so you’ll need to make sure your financial projections factor this in.

Translate »