网站已经存在了很长时间。 在一家鲜为人知的保险公司-Progressive –问我们是否建造它们之后,我自己的公司于1995年开始建造它们。

当时的网站非常初级。 一切都红了。 背景是一艘野蛮的战舰灰色。 一切都必须进入页面。 电子商务不存在。 亚马逊仍然是巴西的热带雨林。

屏幕截图,大约在1995年。我的时代如何改变。

如今,网站绝对是必不可少的,尤其是对于大流行病而言,这对全州的实体经营造成了无法预测的破坏。 令人惊讶的是,美国近40%的小型企业仍然没有网站。 尽管网上订购的能力同比增长了23%,并且自从大流行使经济陷入动荡以来已经飙升,但网上购物的人数仍很少。

具有充当虚拟店面的网站的优势很难忽略。 客户可以每周24天,每天XNUMX小时进行互动,购物和订购。 正确完成后,它们不仅会成为您业务的重要组成部分,而且会增加销售量。

以下是一些帮助您入门的有用提示:

热带地区的 名称 游戏的

您的网站地址是金。 它必须令人难忘,简短,易于拼写,并且不得与任何商标冲突。 过去,.com域扩展名是镇上唯一的游戏,但是现在您可以获得从.biz到.tours的各种扩展名。 无论选择哪种名称,都不要使用带有数字或连字符的名称,因为它们会增加键入错误的机会。

得到帮助

如果这一切对您来说都是陌生的(如果不是,那么您并不孤单),您可能需要引入一名Web设计人员。 是的,您可以自己解决所有问题,但是大多数企业都会找到一家网页设计公司或自由职业者来使其变得专业并节省时间。 他们可以处理所有令人讨厌的事情,例如帮助您找到可用的域名,选择服务器主机(这是您存储站点的位置)和内容管理系统(如何更新站点)。 您可以在本地企业目录中或在guru.com或upwork.com之类的地方找到设计师。 像Wix或Weebly这样的一些公司提供自己动手做的程序包,但它们在功能上相对有限。

奖金小费:如果您聘请设计师,请确保该项目是固定成本的,因此您从预算的角度知道即将开始的工作。

拥有最多主机

自己动手做的软件包的问题之一是,您受困于与之建立网站的公司。 如果价格上涨或停业,则您必须重新开始,因为您不拥有自己的网站。 如果您雇用一家公司来帮助您构建网站,他们会推荐一台共享服务器(您与其他人共享实际服务)。 不要引诱到昂贵的专用服务器中。 共享服务器就可以了。 它相对便宜,并具有您将需要的所有安全和支持功能。 而且,如果由于加载时间太慢或客户服务糟糕而想要更改到另一台服务器主机,则可以。 您的网站永远不会知道区别。 一些知名的服务器公司是GoDaddy,Bluehost和iOnos。

管理内容

您有一个域名,一个设计器和一个服务器。 现在您只需要一个网站。 为此,使用了内容管理系统或CMS。 WordPress是迄今为止拥有健康的开发人员社区的最受欢迎的平台。 WordPress最好的部分是它是免费的,它使大多数插件能够真正完成诸如电子商务之类的凉爽工作。 有成千上万个可用的主题,这些主题将使您在设计上处于领先地位。 其中大多数也是免费的,尽管您可能想与您的设计师讨论购买一款,因为价格通常包括免费更新。 Divi由于其设计灵活性而成为最受欢迎的模板之一。

安装了CMS并配置了主题后,就可以开始使用了。 WordPress和您的主题将完成所有艰苦的工作。 进行一些有关添加和更新内容的培训,您就可以自如。

商店'直到你放弃

如果您在线销售,则需要一个电子商务模块。 为简单起见,我们将坚持使用WordPress作为平台。 WooCommerce是一个将在线商店添加到您的网站的插件。 一切都是内置的,从购物车到运费和税率。 即使您已经完成了所有工作,您仍希望开发人员来帮助您设置您的商店,因为有很多事情需要配置。 但是,一旦设置好,您就可以根据自己的意愿更新所有产品,类别,说明和价格。 订单落在您的电子邮件框中,这笔钱最终存入您的银行帐户。 同样,还有很多其他解决方案,例如Shopify,Wix和GoDaddy。 但是谁想读一个10,000字的博客呢?

设置它,但不要忘记它

作为小企业主,您已经知道刷新商店外观,提供特价商品以及更改所提供的产品和服务的重要性。 您的网站需求不减。 搜索引擎喜欢新内容,因此,您对网站的更新越多,排名就越高。 新闻文章,博客,新产品评论等将有助于获得更高的排名。 并确保您在网站上拥有联系信息。 人们喜欢知道与谁做生意。

美元和美分

出色的网站很少免费。 您不需要一次全部构建它,也不需要添加竞争对手一开始就拥有的所有精美功能。 您可以在获得初始投资回报时添加部件。 一个没有贸易的网站可以使您的收入在$ 1,000和$ 2,500之间。 对于电子商务,如果在WooCommerce中使用简单的商店布局,则价格在1,500美元到3,500美元之间。 服务器存储了这一切吗? 每月不到10美元。

 

简单地开始尝试。 不要让整个事情淹没您。 大多数设计师都乐于解释术语或指导您完成整个过程。 网站已不再像以前那样具有火箭科学性,一旦您建立了基础,就可以很容易地添加订单,因为订单开始大量涌入。有一件事是可以肯定的:如果另一次干扰即将到来,则您的在线商店即使您的实体店无法做到,它们仍将继续日复一日地交付。

在西雅图以北的某个地方,再次梦见代码,

 

  • 罗伯

Websites have been around a long time. My own company started building them in 1995, right after a little known insurance company – Progressive – asked us if we built them.

​Websites back then were very rudimentary. Everything was flush left; backgrounds were a boorish battleship gray. Everything had to be <hardcoded/> into the pages. E-commerce was non-existent. Amazon was still a rainforest in Brazil.

A screen capture of a website, circa 1995.My how times have changed.

Today, a website is an absolute must, especially with a pandemic that is causing unpredictable disruptions to brick and mortar operations across the state. Surprisingly, nearly 40% of small businesses in the U.S. still don’t have a website. Fewer still offer online shopping, even though the ability to order online is growing 23% year over year and has skyrocketed since a pandemic threw the economy into turmoil.

The advantages of having a website that acts as a virtual storefront are hard to ignore. Customers can interact, shop and order 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Done correctly, they will not only become a vital part of your business, but supercharge sales.

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

The name of the game

Your website address is gold. It needs to be memorable, short, easy to spell and not run afoul of any trademarks. In the old days, the .com domain extension was the only game in town, but now you can get all sorts of extensions, from .biz to .tours. Whatever name you choose, stay away from ones with numbers or hyphens as they increase the chance of keying errors.

Get help

If this all sounds foreign to you (and you’re not alone if it does), you may want to bring in a web designer. Yes, you could figure it all out yourself, but most businesses find a web design firm or a freelancer to make it professional and to save time. They can handle all the geeky things like helping you find an available domain name, selecting a server host (this is where you store your site) and a content management system (how you update your site). You can find designers in local business directories or at places like guru.com or upwork.com. Some companies like Wix or Weebly offer do-it-yourself packages, but they are relatively limited in features and functionality.

Bonus tip: If you hire a designer, make sure the project is fixed-cost, so you know what you’re getting into upfront from a budgeting standpoint.

A host with the most

One of the problems with a do-it-yourself package is that you’re stuck with the company you built your site with. If prices go up or they go out of business, you have to start all over again as you don’t own your site. If you hire a company to help you build your site, they will recommend a shared server (you share the actual service with other people). Don’t be lured into an expensive dedicated server. A shared server will do just fine. It is relatively inexpensive and has all the security and support features you will ever need. And, if you ever want to change to another server host because load times are slow or customer service sucks, you can. Your website will never know the difference. Some well-known server companies are GoDaddy, Bluehost and iOnos.

Managing content

You have a domain name, a designer and a server. Now all you need is a website. A content management system, or CMS, is used for this. WordPress is by far the most popular platform with a healthy developer community. The best part of WordPress is it’s free, as are most of the plug-ins that let it do really cool things like e-commerce. There are thousands of themes available that will give you a head start on your design. Most of these are free, too, though you might want to talk to your designer about buying one since the price usually includes free updates. Divi is one of the more popular templates because of its design flexibility.

Once your CMS is installed and your theme configured, you’re all ready to go. WordPress and your theme will do all the hard work. A little training on adding and updating content and you’re on your way.

Shop ‘til you drop

If you sell online, you’ll need an e-commerce module. To make it simple, we’ll stick with WordPress as the platform. WooCommerce is a plug-in that adds an online store to your website. Everything is built-in, from the shopping cart to shipping and tax rates. Even if you’ve done everything yourself up this point, you’ll want a developer to help you set up your shop since there are lots of things that need to be configured. But once it is set up, you can update all your products, categories, descriptions and prices to your heart’s content. Orders land in your email box and the money ends up in your bank account. Again, there are lots of other solutions out there, such as Shopify, Wix and GoDaddy. But who wants to read a 10,000-word blog about it?

Set it, but don’t forget it

As a small business owner, you already know the importance of refreshing the look of your store, offering specials and changing up the products and services you offer. Your website demands no less. Search engines love new content, so the more you update your site, the better the rankings. News articles, blogs, new product reviews, etc. will help get a higher ranking. And make sure you have your contact information on your site. People like to know who they are doing business with.

Dollars and cents

A great website is rarely free. You don’t need to build it all at once or add all the fancy features your competitors have from the get-go. You can add pieces as you get a return on your initial investment. A website without commerce can run you anywhere between $1,000 and $2,500. With e-commerce, you’re looking at $1,500 to $3,500 if you go with a simple store layout in WooCommerce. The server to store it all? Under $10 a month.

 

Start out simply and experiment. Don’t let the whole thing overwhelm you. Most designers are happy to explain the terminology or walk you through the process. Websites aren’t rocket science like they used to be, and once you have the basics built, adding on to it is easy as orders start flowing in. One thing is for sure: If another disruption is somewhere down the road, your online store will continue to deliver day in day out, even if your bricks and mortar one can’t.

Somewhere north of Seattle, dreaming in <b>code</b> once again,

 

  • Robb
Translate »