مخيم تدريبي

خطط اللعبة

تتضمن خطة التسويق العديد من جوانب خطة عمل مدروسة جيدًا. إنه يختلف من حيث أنه يحدد التسويق الخاص بك بمزيد من التفصيل بالإضافة إلى استراتيجياتك للوصول إلى العملاء والتغلب على منافسيك واكتساب حصة في السوق.
يقوم المدرب بتذكير اللاعبين بالحفاظ على خططهم التسويقية محدثة.

خطة التسويق

أ. ملخص تنفيذي
هذا ملخص لخطتك لذا فأنت تريد كتابته أخيرًا. يجب أن يغطي الجوهر العام لخطتك دون الخوض في كل التفاصيل الشاملة. هذا صحيح ، خطاب آخر من المصعد. ونعم ، أكتب هذا القسم أخيرًا لأنه سيكون أسهل.

مراجعة السوق
هذه خلاصة وافية للأبحاث التي أجريتها في السوق بشكل عام. إذا كنت قد كتبت بالفعل واحدة لخطة العمل ، فما عليك سوى نسخها ولصقها هنا أيضًا. إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، فابدأ في الكتابة وحاول أن تجعلها واضحة وموضوعية ومختصرة. أضف البيانات لدعم تحليلك.

جيم تجزئة السوق
لا يمكنك أن تكون كل الأشياء لجميع الناس. يحدد هذا الجزء من خطتك مكانتك في السوق حتى تعرف من هو على استعداد لشراء منتجك أو خدمتك. يمكن تقسيم السوق الخاص بك بأي عدد من الطرق ، وفقًا للسعر والجودة والمنطقة والتركيبة السكانية للعملاء وأنماط الشراء وما إلى ذلك. السعر والجودة هما الأكثر وضوحًا ولكن انظر إلى جميع الاحتمالات حتى تتمكن من تحديد القطاعات التي هي أهدافك. لنا أداة SizeUp يمكن أن تكون مساعدة كبيرة في تقسيم السوق الخاص بك.

د. الجمهور المستهدف
بناءً على تقسيم السوق ، قم بوصف العملاء المستهدفين الأساسي والثانوي. هذا ضروري. في كثير من الأحيان تحاول الشركات استهداف أكبر عدد ممكن من الجمهور وينتهي بها الأمر إلى فقدان الجميع في هذه العملية برسالة لطيفة ومعممة يمكنك دائمًا توسيع نطاق التسويق الخاص بك لاحقًا ، ولكن عليك أولاً العثور على العملاء الذين من المرجح أن يشتروا منك على المدى القريب. ضيق وركز على أهدافك. بمجرد تحديد جمهورك الأساسي ، ابحث في السيكوجرافيك عن سبب شرائهم منك ، وما هي نقاط الألم لديهم ، وعادات الإنفاق لديهم ، وأين يتسوقون ، وما هي طبقتهم الاجتماعية ، ومستوى تفضيلهم للعلامة التجارية. تحتاج مساعدة؟ يمكنك القيام ببعض واجبات تجزئة السوق في يصل حجمها.

هاء الاستعراض التنافسي
حان الوقت للنظر عن كثب في منافسيك. تأكد من فحص منافسيك الأساسيين وكذلك أولئك الذين قد يقدمون منتجًا مشابهًا. صف كل منافس. ما هي نقاط القوة والضعف في منتجاتهم أو خدماتهم؟ ما هي نقاط القوة والضعف عندهم؟؟ ما هي نقاط الضعف التي يمكنك استغلالها؟ ما هو هيكل التسعير الخاص بهم؟ أين يعلنون وكيف يروجون لمنتجاتهم أو خدماتهم؟ ما هي ميزانيتهم ​​الإعلانية؟ ما هو موقعهم؟ بمعنى آخر ، هل هم المنتج المتميز للفئة ، هل هم في المنتصف من حيث السعر والجودة ، أم أنهم الشركة الرائدة في السعر المنخفض؟

و. مراجعة المنتج و / أو الخدمة
حان الوقت للتحدث عما تبيعه. يجب أن يكون هذا سهلاً نسبيًا حيث يجب أن تعرف منتجك أو خدمتك من الداخل والخارج. قم بتغطية هيكل التسعير الحالي الخاص بك ، وكيف ستوزعه ، ومكانته في السوق ، وفوائده للعميل ، وما إلى ذلك. باختصار ، لماذا يشتري أي شخص منتجك أو خدمتك؟

ز. تحليل SWOT
هذا هو أحد أهم أجزاء خطة التسويق الخاصة بك. إنه يوضح جميع نقاط القوة والضعف والفرص والتهديدات الموجودة في السوق ، وهو أمر كان يجب أن تكتشفه أثناء بحثك. يمكن أن يكون هذا أي شيء قد يؤثر على مبيعات منتجك - الجيد والسيئ والقبيح تمامًا. استخدم تفاصيل كافية لشرح سبب ارتباط كل عنصر بمنتجك أو خدمتك ولكن لا تكتب كتابًا عنها.

حاء - الأهداف والأهداف
فقط الحقائق ، سيدتي. هذه هي الأشياء المكسورة والمسامير ، بما في ذلك مكانك الآن ، حيث ستكون بعد خمس سنوات من الآن فيما يتعلق بأهداف المبيعات وأهداف التسويق وكيف ستصل إلى هناك.

1. أهداف المبيعات.
اجعلها ملموسة وقابلة للقياس من حيث الدولارات والوحدات. حدد مستوى يمثل تحديًا ولكنه ليس مستحيلًا. ضع جدولًا زمنيًا حتى تتمكن من قياس تقدمك وتعديل خطتك عندما تفي بالأهداف أو تنقصها. يتضمن ذلك نفقاتك العامة للسنة والهامش الإجمالي المتوقع والأرباح المتوقعة وحصة السوق.

2. أهداف التسويق.
أثناء عملك من خلال بيانات السوق المستهدفة وقطاع السوق ، يجب أن تكون قادرًا على التوصل إلى أهداف تسويقية تخاطب كل مجموعة. هذه تحتاج إلى أن تكون قابلة للقياس وقابلة للقياس الكمي.

مثلا: لنفترض أنك تعلم أن 2,500 عميل اشتروا ما معدله 2.5 أداة في العام الماضي. هناك سوق إضافي يضم 3,500 عميل جديد محتمل سيشترون ما متوسطه 2 من الأدوات الذكية كل عام. يمكنك أيضًا زيادة قيمة عقد الخدمة. يتمثل هدف السوق بالنسبة للعملاء الحاليين في زيادة عملائك الحاليين بنسبة 20٪ وبيع عقود الخدمة إلى 50٪ من هؤلاء العملاء. بالنسبة للعملاء الجدد ، سيكون هدفك هو بيع أدواتك إلى 50٪ من تلك السوق الجديدة المحتملة وإنشاء معدل شراء ضمن تلك المجموعة المكونة من وحدتين سنويًا مع شراء عقود الخدمة لنصف هذه الوحدات.

أولا - الاستراتيجيات
حان الوقت لجزء التفكير الأقصى من الخطة. هذا هو المكان الذي تولد فيه أفكارًا حول ما سيكون عليه المزيج التسويقي حتى تعرف أين تركز ميزانية التسويق والإعلان والعلاقات العامة المتاحة لديك.

1. تحديد المواقع.
هذا هو تصور أن جمهورك المستهدف لمنتجك. لديك أكبر قدر من السيطرة على هذا الجانب من استراتيجيتك. هل هو منتج متخصص أم أنه يتمتع بجاذبية أوسع؟ ما هي السمات الرئيسية لمنتجك أو خدمتك التي سينجذب إليها عملاؤك المحتملون؟ كيف يلبي احتياجات جمهورك؟

2. المنتج.
نعم ، لقد كنت تناقش منتجك أو خدمتك كثيرًا بالفعل. ولكن هنا تريد التفكير في القيمة التي سيراها عميلك فيها. يتضمن ذلك كيفية تعبئتها ، والضمانات التي تقدمها ، وما إلى ذلك. ماذا تقول هذه حول منتجك / خدمتك وهل هي متوافقة بشكل صحيح؟

3. التسعير.
يعتبر التسعير أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لأنه يتصل بالعميل المحتمل بقدر ما يتصل بإعلاناتك. قاوم الرغبة في البيع بسعر منخفض لأنه لن يؤدي بالضرورة إلى زيادة المبيعات. انظر فقط إلى Apple كنموذج لهذا مقارنة بـ HP أو Dell. قد يضع عميلك قيمة أكبر لمنتجك إذا كنت تبيعه بسعر أعلى. يتم تحديد جزء من التسعير حسب السوق والمنافسة الخاصة بك ، ولكن يمكن أيضًا تحديده حسب المكان الذي تريد أن تكون فيه في السوق.

4. التوزيع.
أين ستبيع منتجك؟ كيف ستضعه هناك؟ هل ستكون متاحة على نطاق واسع أم أكثر حصرية؟ هل هو منتج للمدينة أم سيعمل بشكل أفضل في المناطق الريفية أو الضواحي؟ هناك فرق كبير بين بيع منتجك في وول مارت مقابل نوردستروم. حاول مطابقة الصورة التي تريدها مع قناة التوزيع وكن مستعدًا لضبط مزيج القنوات عندما تبدأ في البيع.

5. الاتصالات / الترويج.
لا يشمل هذا فقط الرسائل التي ستستخدمها ، ولكن الأدوات التي ستستخدمها لنشر الكلمة. ينقسم الترويج إلى ست فئات عامة: الإعلان ، والعلاقات العامة / الدعاية ، والتسويق / وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، والعروض الترويجية والأحداث ، والمواد الإضافية / التسويقية ، وقوة المبيعات لديك.

أ. إعلان. يجب أن يشمل هذا الوعد الذي تقطعه لجمهورك ؛ أي ما الذي ستقدمونه يريدون أو يحتاجون إليه؟ ما هي العبارات التي تدعم ادعاءاتك؟ ما هي نبرة رسالتك - جادة ، مرحة ، مضحكة ، ملائمة ، متعاطفة؟ لماذا هذا هو النهج الصحيح؟ ما هو البحث الذي يدعم هذه التصريحات وهذه النغمة؟
ب. العلاقات العامة. يوضح هذا الجزء من الخطة كيف ستحصل على تغطية إعلامية. لماذا يهتم الجمهور بمنتجك أو خدمتك؟ لماذا يجب أن يريد المراسل الإبلاغ عنها؟ ماذا ستقول عن منتجك؟ كيف ستتعامل مع مكالمة وسائط؟ ما هي رسائلك الرئيسية؟ يتضمن هذا الجزء من الخطة البيانات الصحفية ، والمقالات ، والمقابلات ، ومقالات الرأي ، والخطب ، والصور ، وما إلى ذلك. فكر في ما يجعلك تستحق النشر.
ج. تسويق. ويشمل ذلك عمليات إرسال البريد الإلكتروني وتسويق قواعد البيانات ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي مثل Facebook و Twitter والمدونات. الهدف هو توليد الاستفسارات والعملاء المتوقعين ، وبناء جمهور ، وزيادة الوعي العام وبيع المنتج والخدمة فعليًا.
د. العروض الترويجية والأحداث. يتضمن ذلك التخفيضات ، والخصومات المؤقتة ، والهدايا المجانية عند الشراء ، وشراء واحدة / الحصول على واحدة مجانًا ، وما إلى ذلك. يجب أن يتضمن تقويمًا للخصومات المخططة ، والعينات المجانية ، والخصومات ، والحزمتين ، واليانصيب ، والألعاب ، والمنتجات محدودة الوقت ، إلخ حول هذه العروض الترويجية ، ما هي الأحداث التي ستدعمها؟ يمكن أن يكون هذا إطلاقًا لمنتج ، أو عرضًا توضيحيًا في المتجر (Costco هو سيد ذلك) ، أو حدثًا إعلاميًا أو ندوة عبر الإنترنت للترويج للمنتج أو الخدمة ؛ الاحتمالات لا حصر لها. فقط تذكر أن الأحداث يمكن أن تكون باهظة الثمن وتستنزف بالفعل ميزانية التسويق الممتدة بالفعل.
ه. مواد التسويق / الضمانات. يتضمن ذلك مواد المبيعات والمواد المطبوعة وبطاقات العمل والموقع الإلكتروني. حدد نوع الضمان الذي تحتاجه وما الذي سيتم استخدام كل منها ، وما هي الرسائل ، ومن تستهدفه ، وكم ستحتاج ، وما إلى ذلك.
F. قوة المبيعات. خطك الأول في المبيعات. ضع في اعتبارك نوع التدريب الذي سيحتاجه الأشخاص وما هي رسائلهم إلى العملاء المحتملين والعملاء. ستحتاج أيضًا إلى تغطية المعارض التجارية في هذا القسم إذا كانت جزءًا من خططك.

ياء - خطة العمل والتنفيذ
يلتقي المطاط بوقت الطريق هنا. هذا هو المكان الذي ستنتقل إليه من خلال خطة الوسائط الخاصة بك ، ومصفوفة ما تعلن عنه وتسويقه ، وأين وكيف ، وتوقيت وتكرار ، وما إلى ذلك وإرفاق بعض أرقام الميزانية بكل شيء.

1. الخطة الإعلامية.
يتضمن ذلك الوسائط التي ستستخدمها ، وخصائص كل وسيط ، ومتى وأين تخطط للإعلان والتردد. قم بتضمين سبب اختيارك لكل واحد وتوقعاتك للشراء من حيث عائد الاستثمار. ابدأ صغيرًا ، جرب لترى ما الذي ينجح وما لا ينفع ، استثمر بذكاء ولا تضع كل بيضك في سلة واحدة. أعلن عن جمهورك وتفاعل معه ولا تقلق بشأن الحصول عليه بالشكل الصحيح في المرة الأولى. يستغرق بناء الوعي وقتًا ؛ يستغرق بناء علامة تجارية مدى الحياة.

2. الميزانية.
كم ستكلفك كل عملية "شراء"؟ ما هو مجموع ميزانيتك المتاحة؟ انظر إلى متوسط ​​الصناعة الذي يتم إنفاقه كنسبة مئوية من المبيعات على المنتجات أو الخدمات المشابهة لما تقدمه. تحقق مما إذا كانت ميزانيتك واقعية مقارنة بما ينفقه الآخرون. أخيرًا ، قم بتقدير ما تعتقد أن منافسيك ينفقونه على الإعلان والتسويق. يجب أن تتضمن أوراق ميزانيتك النهائية ورقة موجزة توضح إجمالي ميزانية التسويق مع تفصيل حسب الإستراتيجية وحسب قطاع المنتج والسوق.

3. الجدول الزمني.
بناءً على الشراء والميزانية المخططين ، فأنت تريد التفكير في جدولة العروض الترويجية. إذا كان المنتج جديدًا ، فقد ترغب في تحميل مشترياتك مقدمًا بحيث يكون هناك المزيد من الإعلانات في بداية حملتك. يمكنك أيضًا القيام بما يُشار إليه بالجدول الزمني الثقيل ، والذي يتضمن أوقاتًا محددة من العام تعلن فيها بشكل أكبر. هذا مثالي للمنتجات الموسمية أو المنتجات أو الخدمات الدورية. يعد الطيران خيارًا آخر ، حيث تقوم بفترات إعلان أقصر ، لنقل ثلاثة إلى ستة أسابيع ، ثم لا إعلانات لمدة ثلاثة إلى ستة أسابيع أخرى. سيساعدك هذا في قياس معدلات الاستجابة لأساليب الإعلان والتسويق الخاصة بك. بالإضافة إلى رسائلك ، يجب أن يمنحك هذا تقويمًا للوسائط يخبرك بيانياً بموعد الإعلان ، وأين ، وماذا وماذا تخطط لقوله.

4. الواجبات.
حان الوقت الآن لتعيين العمل. يجب أن تبدأ العديد من استراتيجيات الإعلان والتسويق قبل أشهر. أنت لا تريد أن يفوتك موعد حرج. اكتشف من سيتعامل مع استراتيجيات الإعلان والتسويق المختلفة هذه. هل ستشترك في عمل حر أو وكالة؟ أم سيتولى الموظف هذه الوظيفة؟ تذكر أن التسويق والعلاقات العامة ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والإعلان تتطلب مهارات متخصصة. أنت لا تريد أن تقترب من ذلك بقسوة أو تهدئ نفسك للاعتقاد بأنه يمكنك التعامل معها عندما تكون مشغولاً بتدوير الكثير من الأطباق الأخرى بالفعل. ضع جميع الأنشطة والأشخاص الذين يقومون بها على تقويم حائط أو استخدم نظام تقويم على جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك حتى تتمكن من تتبع إستراتيجيتك الإعلامية.

ك. التقييم
ليس هناك فائدة من القيام بأي تسويق إذا كنت لن تقيس فعاليته. سوف تضيع أموالك فقط. في خطتك التسويقية ، سترغب في تغطية كيفية قياس النجاح.

1. أنظمة تتبع الرصاص.
لكل نوع من أنواع الوسائط ، حدد كيف سيتم تعقبها. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كنت تشتري إعلانًا على Facebook أو Google ، فكم عدد الأشخاص الذين نقروا على الرابط للاستفادة من عرضك الخاص أو زاروا صفحة الويب الخاصة التي أنشأتها خصيصًا لتلك الحملة؟ ما هي حركة المرور الخاصة بك على موقع الويب الخاص بك؟ هل زاد بعد ظهور مقال عن منتجك أو خدمتك؟ هل زاد العملاء المحتملون نتيجة لذلك (بافتراض أن لديك القدرة على توليد العملاء المحتملين على موقع الويب الخاص بك ، وهو ما يجب أن يكون لديك)؟ يعد تتبع الأحداث أصعب بكثير ، خاصة العروض التجارية أو العروض الترويجية داخل المتجر. تأكد من التفكير في طرق لقياس النجاح قبل المشاركة في عرض أو حدث.

2. مراجعات المبيعات.
يتضمن هذا مراجعة المبيعات كل ثلاثة أشهر. هل زادت المبيعات؟ هل زادت عمليات البيع؟ كم عدد العملاء الجدد الذين اكتسبتهم من حملة محددة في خطتك التسويقية؟ كيف ستربط المبيعات بهذه الحملات؟

تذكر أنه من السهل أن تفقد التركيز عندما تنشغل بيوم عملك اليومي. استخدم خطة الأعمال والتسويق لإرشادك وتحديثها من وقت لآخر مع نمو عملك وتغيره حتى تظل على المسار الصحيح.

Training Camp

Game Plans

A marketing plan incorporates many aspects of a well thought out business plan. It differs in that it outlines your marketing in greater detail as well as your strategies for reaching customers, outmaneuvering your competitors and gaining market share.
Coach reminding players to keep their marketing plans up to date. 

Marketing Plan

A. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
This is a summary of your plan so you want to write it last. It should cover the overall essence of your plan without going into all the extensive detail. Yes, another elevator speech.

B. MARKET REVIEW
This is a compendium of the research you did on the market in general. If you already wrote one for the business plan just copy and paste it here as well. If not, start writing and try to keep it clear, objective and concise. Add data to support your analysis.

C. MARKET SEGMENTATION
You can’t be all things to all people. This part of your plan identifies your niche in the market so you know who is willing to buy your product or service. Your market can be segmented any number of ways, according to price, quality, region, customer demographics, buying patterns, etc. Price and quality are the most obvious, but look at all the possibilities so you can determine which segments are your targets. Our SizeUp tool can be a big help in segmenting your market.

D. TARGET AUDIENCE
Based on your market segmentation, describe your primary and secondary target customers. This is essential as too often businesses try to target too wide of an audience and miss everyone in the process with a bland, generalized message. You can always expand the breadth of your marketing later, but first you have to find those customers who are most likely to buy from you. Narrow in and focus your targets. Once you have identified your primary audience, delve into the psychographics of why they would buy from you, what their pain points are, their spending habits, where they shop, what their social class is and their level of brand preference. Need help? You can do some of your market segmentation homework in SizeUp.

E. COMPETITIVE REVIEW
Time to look closely at your competitors. Be sure you examine your primary competitors as well as those who may offer a similar product. Describe each competitor. What are the strengths and weaknesses of their products or services? What are their strengths
and weaknesses as a company? What weaknesses can you exploit? What is their pricing structure? Where do they advertise and how do they promote their products? What are their advertising budgets? What is their positioning? In other words, are they the category’s premium product, are they in the middle in terms of price and quality, or are they the low price leader?

F. PRODUCT AND/OR SERVICE REVIEW
Time to talk about what you’re selling. This should be relatively easy as you should know your product or service inside and out. Cover your current pricing structure, how you’ll distribute it, its position in the market, its benefits to the customer, etc. In short, why would anyone buy your product or service?

G. SWOT ANALYSIS
This is one of the most important parts of your marketing plan. It articulates all the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats that exist in the marketplace, something you should have uncovered during your research. This can be anything that might affect the sales of your product, the good, the bad and the downright ugly. Use enough detail to explain why each item is relevant to your product or service but don’t write a book on it.

H. GOALS AND OBJECTIVES
Just the facts, ma’am. This is nuts and bolts stuff, including where you are now, where you’re going to be five years from now in terms of sales goals and marketing objectives and how you’re going to get there.

1. Sales Goals.
Make them concrete and measurable in terms of dollars and units. Set a level that is challenging but not impossible. Set a timetable so you can measure your progress and adjust your plan as you meet or come up short on targets. This includes your overhead for the year, your expected gross margin, projected profit and market share.

2. Marketing Objectives.
As you work through your target market and market segment data you should be able to come up with marketing objectives that address each group. These need to be measurable and quantifiable.

For example, say you know that 2,500 customers bought an average of 2.5 widgets last year. There is an additional market of 3,500 potential new customers who will buy an average of 2 widgets each year. You can also upsell a service contract.

Your market objective for existing customers would be to increase your current customers by 20% and sell service contracts to 50% of those customers. For new customers your objective would be to sell your widgets to 50% of that new potential market and create a buying rate within that group of 2 units per year with service contracts being purchased for half of those units.

I. STRATEGIES
Time for the thinking cap portion of the plan. This is where you generate ideas about what your marketing mix will be so you know where to focus your available marketing, advertising and public relations budget.

1. Positioning.
This is the perception that your target audience has of your product. You have the most control over this aspect of your strategy. Is it a niche product or does it have broader appeal? What are the main attributes of your product or service that your prospective customers would be attracted to? How does it meet your audience’s need?

2. Product.
yes, you’ve been discussing your product or service a lot. But here you want to think about the value your customer will see in it. This includes how it is packaged, the warranties you are offering, etc. What do these say about your product/service and are they properly aligned?

3. Pricing.
Pricing is critical as it communicates as much to the prospect as your advertising. Resist the desire to sell low as it won’t necessarily generate more sales. Just look at Apple as the model for this compared to HP or Dell. Your customer may actually place more value on your product if you sell it for a higher price. Part of pricing is determined by the market and your competition, but it is also determined by where you want to be in the market space.

4. Distribution.
Where are you going to sell your product? How are you going to get it placed there? Is it going to be widely available or more exclusive? Is it a city product or will it work better in rural or suburban areas? There’s a big difference between selling your product in Wal-Mart as opposed to Macy’s or Nordstrom. Try to match your desired image with the distribution channel and be prepared to adjust the channel mix as you begin to sell.

5. Communications/Promotion.
This not only includes the messaging that you’ll use, but the tools you’ll use to spread the word. Promotion falls into six general categories: advertising, public relations/publicity, marketing/social media, promotions and events, collateral/marketing materials and your sales force.

a. Advertising. This should include the promise you are making to your audience; i.e. what are you going to deliver that they want or need? What are the statements that back up your claims? What is the tone of your message – serious, playful, funny, accommodating, sympathetic? Why is this the right approach? What in your research supports these statements and this tone?
b. Public Relations. This part of the plan outlines how you are going to get media coverage. Why is the public interested in your product or service? Why should a reporter care? What are you going to have to say about your product? How would you handle a media call? What are your key messages? This part of the plan involves press releases, features, interviews, opinion pieces, speeches, photos, etc. Think about what makes you newsworthy.
c. Marketing. This includes email blasts, database marketing and social media such as Facebook, Twitter and blogs. The goal is to generate inquiries and leads, build an audience, raise general awareness and actually sell the product and service.
d. Promotions and Events. This includes sales, temporary discounts, free gifts with a purchase, buy one/get one free, etc. It can include a calendar of your planned discounts, free samples, rebates, two-packs, sweepstakes, games, limited time products, etc. Around these promotions, what events will support them? This can be a product launch, an in-store demo (visit a Costco to get schooled
on this), a media event or online seminar to promote the product or service; the possibilities are endless. Just remember that events can be expensive and really sap an already stretched marketing budget.
e. Marketing Materials/Collateral. This includes your sales materials, print materials, business cards and website. Identify what type of collateral you need and what each will be used for, what the messaging is, who it’s targeted to, how many you will need, etc.
f. Sales Force. Your front line of sales. Consider what kind of training they will need and what their messaging to prospects and customers will be. You’ll also want to cover trade shows in this section if they are part of your plans.

J. ACTION PLAN AND IMPLEMENTATION
Rubber meets the road time here. This is where you’ll go through your media plan, the matrix of what you’re advertising and marketing where and how, timing, frequency, etc. and attach some budget numbers to everything.

1. Media Plan.
This includes which media you will be using, the specifics of each medium, when and where you plan to advertise and frequency. Include why you chose each one and what your expectations are for the buy.

2. Budget.
How much is each buy going to cost you? What is your total available budget? Look at the industry average spent as a percent of sales for products or services that are similar to yours. See if your budget is realistic compared to what others are spending. Finally, estimate what you think your competitors are spending on advertising and marketing. Your final budget sheets should include an overview sheet showing the total marketing budget with a breakdown by strategy and by product and market segment.

3. Schedule.
Based on your planned buy and budget, you want to consider the scheduling of promotions. If the product is new, you may want to front-load your buy so that there is more advertising at the beginning of your campaign. You can also do a heavy-up schedule, which has specific times of the year that you advertise more heavily. This is ideal for seasonal products or products or services that are cyclical. Flighting is another option, where you do shorter periods of advertising, say three to six weeks, and then no advertising for another three to six weeks. This will help you gauge response rates to your advertising and marketing tactics. Combined with your messaging, this should give you a media calendar that graphically tells you when to advertise, where, in what and what you plan to say.

4. Assignments.
Not it’s time to assign the work. Many advertising and marketing strategies need to be begun months in advance. You don’t want to miss a critical date. Figure out who will handle these different advertising and marketing strategies. Will you engage a freelancer or
an agency? Or will a staff member handle this function? Remember that marketing and advertising is a specialized skill set. You don’t want to approach it roughshod or lull yourself into believing you can handle it when you’re busy spinning a lot of other plates already. Put all the activities and who’s doing them on a wall calendar or use a calendaring system on your computer so you can track your media strategy.

K. EVALUATION
There’s no point in doing any marketing if you aren’t going to gauge its effectiveness. You’ll just be wasting your money. In your marketing plan, you’ll want to cover how you will measure success.

1. Lead Tracking Systems.
For each type of media, identify how it will be tracked. For instance, if you’re buying advertising on Facebook or Google, how many people called to take advantage of your special offer or visited the special web page you created specifically for that campaign. What is your traffic like on your website? Did it increase after an article appeared about your product or service? Did leads increase as a result (assuming you have a lead generation capability on your website, which you should have)? Events are far trickier to track, especially trade shows or in-store promotions. Be sure to think of ways to measure success before you engage in a show or event.

2. Sales Reviews.
This includes a review of sales quarterly. Did sales increase? Did upsells increase? How many new customers did you gain from a campaign outlined in your marketing plan? How will you connect sales to these campaigns?

Remember, it’s easy to lose focus when caught up in the day-to-day of your business. Use the business and marketing plan to guide you and update it from time to time as your business grows and changes so you stay on course.

Translate »