不断增长的农村经济

 

华盛顿州商务部的“不断发展的农村经济”计划致力于通过服务社区初创公司和企业家的需求,有机地构建地方经济。 目标是让农村地区注重“创造,而不是搬迁”,并增加那些希望创业或发展业务的人可获得的服务数量

计划包括企业家和小型企业认为对成功至关重要的五项服务:1) t技术援助, e教育和培训, a资本金和 m指导和培训。 这是实际的TEAM方法:

技术援助

这包括操作方法文章,与 工作空间 并链接到 在线资源,以及两本针对初创企业和小型企业的出版物, 华盛顿小企业手册 的网络 小型企业危机规划师。 有两个特定的轨道:一个用于 想要创业的企业家 和另一个 想要扩大经营范围的企业主.

教育和培训

目标是在地方一级进行,以建立一个生态系统,该生态系统的努力是通过与社区学院,非营利组织,当地经济发展领导人和私营企业之间的伙伴关系来推动的。 它包括全州的启动中心,这些中心可以亲自或通过互联网提供培训和教育,以及在线网络研讨会。

获得资金

资金对于公司来说是一个大问题,尤其是在启动阶段。 商务部已创建 创业智慧:募集资金的27条策略 它提供了经过时间考验的方法,以及从贷款到众包的一些现成的为企业融资的方法。 它也有广泛的清单 投资者 以及 补助金.

指导与网络

向他人学习对快速增长和原型制造至关重要。 不断增长的农村经济体采用两种方法指导。 首先是通过在其职业生涯中“去过那里”的城市商业专家向企业家和小型企业展示最佳实践。 第二种策略是在社区一级利用导师,以利用农村社区的丰富知识。 这些业务专业人员可以帮助企业家和初创企业更快地进入下一阶段,同时避免与增长和扩张相关的一些常见陷阱。

每年XNUMX月,商务部都会在 全球创业月,它将学生,个人,商业领袖,教育者,投资者和企业家聚集在一起,以聆听新想法,进行商业计划竞赛,并且最重要的是彼此之间建立联系。 商务部还开发了 在线制图工具 加速器,孵化器,“创客空间”和合作场所,将企业主与具有类似或互补技能和兴趣的其他人联系起来。

教育和培训

目标是在地方一级进行,以建立一个生态系统,该生态系统的努力是通过与社区学院,非营利组织,当地经济发展领导人和私营企业之间的合作伙伴关系来推动的。 它基于Avista Utilities与社区大学合作开发的企业家计划成功的商业模式,该学院招收了75名学生,并发起了20项业务。 ScaleUp将提供现场培训,以帮助企业主掌握财务状况,改善和简化运营并提高市场份额。

 

所有这些服务对于鼓励企业家精神至关重要。 目前,有24万美国人从事创业业务。 这些数字表明,小企业组建在实现经济安全方面发挥着巨大作用。 创业为留住青年,创造就业机会和促进创新提供了更多机会。 Commerce的Startup 365成长型农村经济计划的目标是,通过州政府支持的创业计划,通过为初创企业提供他们想要和需要的资源,在地方一级实现有机增长。

Growing Rural Economies

 

Washington’s Department of Commerce’s Growing Rural Economies program focuses on building local economies organically by serving the needs of community-based startups and entrepreneurs. The goal is for rural areas to place an emphasis on “create, not relocate” and increase the number of services available to those wanting to start or grow their business

Programs encompass five services that entrepreneurs and small businesses consider essential to their success: 1) technical assistance, education and training, access to capital and mentorship and training. Here’s the T.E.A.M. approach in action:

Technical Assistance

This includes how-to articles, connections to work spaces and links to online resources, as well as two publications targeted to startups and small businesses, the Washington Small Business Playbook and a Crisis Planner for Small Businesses. There are two specific tracks: one for entrepreneurs that want to start a business and another for business owners who want to expand their operations.

Education and Training

Occurring at the local level, the goal is to develop an ecosystem whose efforts are driven by partnerships with community colleges, nonprofit organizations, local economic-development leaders and private industry. It includes Startup Centers throughout the state that provide training and education, either in person or via the Internet, as well as online webinars.

Access to Capital

Funding is a big issue for companies, especially in the startup phase. The Department of Commerce has created Startup Wisdom: 27 Strategies to Raising Capital which offers a mix of time-tested methods along with some out-of-the-box ways to finance a business, from loans to crowdsourcing. It also has an extensive listing of investors and grants.

Mentorship & Networking

Learning from others is essential to rapid growth and prototyping. Growing Rural Economies uses a two-pronged approach to mentoring. The first is to expose entrepreneurs and small businesses to best practices via urban business experts who have “been there, done that” in their careers. The second strategy is to utilize mentors at the community level, tapping into the wealth of knowledge in rural communities. These business professionals can help entrepreneurs and startups move more quickly to the next stage while avoiding some of the common pitfalls associated with growth and expansion.

Each November, Commerce coordinates events statewide during the Global Entrepreneurship Month, which brings students, individuals, business leaders, educators, investors and entrepreneurs together to hear new ideas, conduct business-plan competitions and, most importantly, network with one another. Commerce has also developed an online mapping tool of accelerators, incubators, “maker spaces” and co-working places to connect business owners with others who have similar or complementary skills and interests.

Education and Training

Occurring at the local level, the goal is to develop an ecosystem whose efforts are driven by partnerships with community colleges, nonprofit organizations, local economic-development leaders and private industry. It is based on the successful business model of an entrepreneurship program developed by Avista Utilities in concert with the community college which enrolled 75 students and led to 20 businesses being launched. ScaleUp will offer on-site education to help business owners master their finances, improve and streamline operations and improve market share.

 

All of these services are crucial to encouraging entrepreneurship. Currently, there are 24 million Americans engaged in startup business activity. These numbers signify the tremendous role small business formation plays as a path to economic security.  Entrepreneurship fosters more opportunities to retain youth, create jobs, and promote innovation. Creating organic growth at the local level with a state-supported entrepreneurship program by providing startups with the resources they want and need, is the goal of Commerce’s Startup 365 Growing Rural Economies program.

Share
Translate »