成功的故事:
咬我公司

 

咬我饼干徽标。

Deborah Tuggle是塔科马以南的莱克伍德市的两家全天然有机烹饪公司的经营者。 星期五的饼干是美食界 咬我公司 提供烘烤的脆饼饼干和冷冻面团球,可用于烘烤。

Deborah于2016年加入了该州的经济园艺计划,将她与国家经济园艺中心及其市场研究团队,地理信息系统(GIS)和数字营销专家联系在一起。

她的主要业务目标之一是扩大和多样化她的客户群,当时的客户群主要是当地的一家杂货店,购买了她的自有品牌的曲奇产品而不是她的品牌产品。

国家经济园艺战略研究团队(NSRT)为她的业务概述了三个可交付成果:

    1. 高质量的销售线索:团队成员建立了她当前顾客的资料,分析了杂货连锁店顾客的人口统计信息。 事实证明,这些客户比最初想象的要富裕得多。 利用GIS工具,顾问然后确定了全国其他富裕客户以及为该客户群提供服务的零售商的人口统计信息。 Deborah收到了她可以定位的253个潜在杂货店的列表,其中包括商店收入,信用评分,网站地址,要联系的个人名称以及他们的电话号码和电子邮件地址。
    2. 行业趋势与情报:小组的另一个成员处理了一个研究项目,该项目着眼于高档专业美食市场细分,以寻找潜在的扩展领域,例如送餐套件或对有机产品感兴趣的细分市场。 她还确定并分析了公司的主要竞争对手,因此Deborah可以进行一些基准测试并关注最佳实践,例如公司应如何定位市场,如何有效使用社交媒体以及他们可以参与哪种类型的社区和慈善伙伴关系在。
    3. 数字营销:团队的最后一名成员对Deborah的网站进行了分析,重点是SEO。 目的是找到改善Bite Me!的数字店面的方法,重点是加强企业对企业的前景。 该团队还研究了使用社交媒体定位可能想要运送公司产品的零售商的方法。

效果见证

凭借NSRT团队提供的信息,Deborah在扩大客户群方面取得了重大进展。 她为客户增加了327家Safeway商店。 为了跟上新订单,她聘用了12名新员工,其中包括一名生产经理,使总就业人数增加到37名。第二年的收入预计将接近2万美元,高于去年的1.6万美元。

黛博拉给节目高分。 她说:“我掌握的信息是无价的。” “从现在开始十年后,我仍然可以使用它。

“ [竞争对手]的名单包括我什至不知道存在的公司,其中一个公司的收入为35万美元。 这给了我一些努力。 如果他们能做到,我为什么不能呢?”

除了人数之外,黛博拉(Deborah)说,该计划使她作为企业主的信心更大。 她说:“经商可能会很寂寞。” “但是我的经济园艺团队了解我来自哪里。 一旦我对他们感到安全,水闸便打开了。”

她继续说:“这与我以前收到的任何其他业务帮助都不一样。” “很多程序都有良好的意图,但实际上并没有实现。 通过经济园艺,您会获得结果。”

Success Story

 

Bite Me cookies logo.

Deborah Tuggle is the operator of two all-natural, organic cooking companies in the city of Lakewood, just south of Tacoma. Friday’s Cookies is a gourmet line while Bite Me, Inc. provides baked shortbread cookies and frozen dough balls that can be used for baking.

Deborah enrolled in the state’s economic gardening program in 2016, connecting her with the National Center for Economic Gardening and its team of market research, geographic information systems (GIS) and digital marketing experts.

One of her main business goals was to expand and diversify her customer base which at the time was primarily a local grocery chain that bought her private-label cookie products instead of her branded line.

The National Strategic Research Team (NSRT) for Economic Gardening outlined three deliverables for her business:

    1. High-Quality Sales Leads: A member of the team built a profile of her current customer, analyzing the demographics of the grocery chain’s customers. These customers turned out to be more affluent than first thought. Leveraging the GIS tools, the consultant then identified other geographic locations around the country that had that same demographic of affluent customers as well as the retailers who serve this customer base. Deborah received a list of 253 potential grocery outlets she could target, which included store revenue, credit score, website address, names of individuals to contact as well as their phone numbers and email addresses.
    2. Industry Trends and Intelligence: Another member of the team tackled a research project that looked at the upscale specialty gourmet market segment to look for potential areas for expansion, such as meal delivery kits or segments that were interested in organic products. She also identified and analyzed the company’s main competitors so Deborah could do some benchmarking and focus on best practices, such as how the company should be positioned in the market, how to effectively use social media and what types of community and charitable partnerships they could participate in.
    3. Digital Marketing: A final member of the team did an analysis of Deborah’s website, focusing on SEO. The goal was to find ways to improve Bite Me!’s digital storefront with an emphasis on strengthening business-to-business prospects. The team also examined ways to use social media to target retailers who may want to carry the company’s products.

 

Results

Armed with the information provided by the NSRT team, Deborah was able to make significant progress in expanding her client base. She added 327 Safeway stores to her clientele. To keep up with the new orders, she hired 12 new people, including a production manager, bringing total employment to 37. Revenue the following year was projected to be nearly $2 million, up from $1.6 million the year before.

Deborah gave the program high marks. “The information I have in my hands is priceless,” she said. “It’s something I can still use 10 years from now.

“The list [of competitors] included companies I didn’t even know existed, and one of them was doing $35 million in revenue. That gives me something to work toward. If they can do it, why can’t I?”

Beyond the numbers, Deborah said the program gave her greater confidence as a business owner. “Being in business can be very lonely,” she said. “But my Economic Gardening team understood where I was coming from. Once I felt safe with them, the flood gates opened.”

“This is unlike any other business assistance I’ve received before,” she continues. “There are a lot of programs that have good intentions, but don’t really materialize into anything. With economic gardening, though, you get results.”

Translate »