Calendrier du mois mondial de l'entrepreneuriat

Du 22 au 30 novembre

23 novembre: Le développement coopératif comme outil de développement économique

Durée : 9 h à 10 h 30
Présentateurs: Mike Peroni, chef de projet, NABC
Stephen Bramwell, directeur et agent de vulgarisation agricole, WSU Thurston County Extension
Dave Fenn, agriculteur régional
Randy Mueller, PDG, Port de Chehalis
Commanditaire : Centre des affaires agricoles du Nord-Ouest (NABC)

Voir la vidéo

À propos du cours: La pression du développement, la perte d'installations de transformation et la diminution des avantages concurrentiels menacent aujourd'hui l'agriculture et l'agro-industrie de niveau intermédiaire dans tout notre État. Cela se produit souvent à un moment où l'infrastructure nécessaire pour développer des marchés de produits alternatifs n'est pas encore disponible. Au cours d'une table ronde, nous examinerons comment une grande variété de partenaires régionaux de Washington ont fusionné pour créer une coopérative appartenant à des producteurs dans le sud-ouest de Washington. Ensemble, ils ont soutenu avec succès le développement ambitieux d'un nouveau marché pour les céréaliculteurs régionaux.

À propos des présentateurs: 

Mike Peroni est chef de projet pour le Northwest Agriculture Business Center (NABC) et vit avec sa femme et sa fille à Curtis WA, à environ 10 miles au sud-ouest de Chehalis. Mike a plus de 30 ans d'expérience dans des rôles de leadership soutenant l'agriculture régionale et une connaissance approfondie de la gestion agricole et commerciale, du soutien de la marque, des partenariats public / privé, du développement du marché, de la structure organisationnelle et de la conformité réglementaire. Au sein d'une équipe dédiée au développement de solutions aux problèmes de l'agriculture dans le sud-ouest de Washington, ses projets actuels incluent le développement d'infrastructures de stockage de grains agrégés et de transbordement ferroviaire au port de Chehalis, et le développement de services d'agrégation et de distribution avec une capacité de transformation à valeur ajoutée dans SW WA.

Dave Fenn fait partie d'un groupe d'agriculteurs régionaux qui cultivent l'orge brassicole 'Thunder' récemment publiée par OSU dans le cadre d'un projet visant à créer un programme SW WA Barley avec Great Western Malting de Vancouver, WA. Dave a joué un rôle déterminant dans le développement d'une coopérative régionale de producteurs et est un ardent défenseur de l'agriculture SW WA. Sur 270 acres, trois générations de la famille Fenn produisent des légumes pour les transformateurs locaux depuis 65 ans; jusqu'au moment où ces transformateurs ont fait faillite ou ont cessé de délivrer des contrats aux producteurs de l'ouest. Dave produit actuellement une variété de céréales et de semences, ainsi que des cultures fourragères et du bœuf, et fait partie d'une coopérative de producteurs régionaux qui travaille dur pour développer des alternatives viables aux cultures de transformation autrefois cultivées dans la région.

Stephen Bramwell est directeur et agent de vulgarisation agricole pour WSU Thurston County Extension. Il a obtenu une maîtrise en sciences du sol de l'Université de l'État de Washington et un baccalauréat ès arts en développement communautaire international à l'Université de Washington. Ses domaines de travail comprennent le développement des marchés pour l'agriculture locale, la production de céréales spéciales, la formation des nouveaux agriculteurs et la conservation des terres en activité. Les projets récents comprennent l'évaluation de variétés d'orge pour l'industrie des boissons artisanales, la faisabilité de fruits et légumes peu transformés, le développement d'un centre alimentaire régional et la conservation de l'habitat des pâturages des prairies.

Randy Mueller est le PDG du port de Chehalis et vit à Chehalis avec sa femme, sa fille et leur lévrier de course à la retraite. Randy a travaillé pour les districts portuaires publics pendant les 14 dernières années, avec un accent sur des projets qui créent de bons emplois et des communautés plus fortes. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences sociales de la WSU, une maîtrise de la Portland State University en développement immobilier et une maîtrise en administration publique de l'Université de Washington.

23 novembre: Stratégies de redressement, de survie et de sortie des entreprises

Durée : 11 am - 12: 15 pm
Présentateur: Steve Burke, conseiller en affaires certifié SBDC de Washington
Commanditaire : Centre de développement des petites entreprises de Washington

S’enregistrer

À propos du cours: Avez-vous envie d'abandonner? De nombreux propriétaires de petites entreprises ont l'impression de ne pas pouvoir continuer. Si vous pensez que la fin est proche, assistez à ce webinaire. Nous vous donnerons de l'espoir et des options. Les sujets traités incluent: la gestion des flux de trésorerie, le financement et l'injection de capitaux, la gestion de la dette, les stratégies de redressement, la discipline financière, les conseils de survie, les stratégies de sortie, y compris la fermeture, la vente de l'entreprise et la faillite.

23 novembre: Premiers pas avec Amazon

Durée : 1 - 2 pm
Présentateur: Jennifer Kuznicki, responsable principale des programmes petites entreprises, Amazon

Voir la vidéo

À propos du cours: Cette session est une introduction aux opportunités, ressources et outils que les petites entreprises peuvent exploiter pour se développer avec Amazon. Nous aborderons la vente sur Amazon et les meilleures pratiques, ainsi que d'autres modèles commerciaux qui utilisent Amazon pour atteindre les clients.

24 novembre: Pop-Ups: Nom amusant, opportunités sérieuses pour les entrepreneurs

Durée : 11 h - midi

Présentateurs:
Breanne Durham, Washington Main Street Directrice, Washington Trust for Historic Preservation
Linda Haglund, directrice générale, Wenatchee Downtown Association
Ellen Gamson, directrice générale, Mount Vernon Downtown Association
Lisa Smith, directrice exécutive, Washington State Microenterprise Association

S’enregistrer

L'entrepreneuriat étant probablement en hausse en 2021, fournir des espaces et des services aux microentreprises en démarrage sera une stratégie essentielle pour les communautés qui espèrent tirer parti de cette tendance post-récession. Cette table ronde de 45 minutes explorera les possibilités de microbusiness et d'entrepreneuriat, avec un accent particulier sur les espaces d'incubation dirigés par Main Street. Vous découvrirez deux modèles différents: un marché éphémère de vacances à Wenatchee qui accueillait temporairement 11 petites entreprises et un espace à locataire unique à plus long terme à Mount Vernon. La discussion comprend la Washington State Microenterprise Association, le Washington State Main Street Program, la Wenatchee Downtown Association et la Mount Vernon Downtown Association.

24 novembre: Service client et avis avec Amazon

Durée : 1 - 2 pm
Présentatrice: Jennifer Kuznicki, responsable principale des programmes Small Business, Amazon

S’enregistrer

 À propos du cours: Apprenez à soutenir les clients de manière proactive et positive tout en répondant aux commentaires dans une expérience d'achat en ligne. Explorez des moyens de cultiver des avis honnêtes et comment ne pas perdre la confiance des clients.

30 novembre: Préparation et pivot du commerce électronique

Durée : 10: 30 - 11: 30 am
Présentateur: Jenefeness Tucker, MBA, conseillère en affaires certifiée
Commanditaire : Centre de développement des petites entreprises de Washington

Voir la vidéo

À propos du cours: Avec des taux d'occupation restreints, des commandes saines pour rester à la maison, des troubles politiques / sociaux et une augmentation des résultats des tests COVID19, il est plus difficile de servir les clients en personne pendant cette période. De plus, certains clients peuvent ne pas être à proximité de votre entreprise locale. Être en ligne peut augmenter vos ventes / revenus auprès de clients que vous ne seriez normalement pas attirés par vous. Il existe plusieurs façons de réussir la mise en ligne de votre entreprise. Cela peut même être possible en utilisant un affilié pour le faire pour vous.

À l'échelle mondiale, les ventes en ligne devraient atteindre 4.2 billions de dollars cette année. Actuellement, 76% des consommateurs américains achètent en ligne. Les experts disent qu'il y aura plus de 300 millions d'acheteurs en ligne aux États-Unis d'ici 2023. Si vous ne vendez pas en ligne, il est probable que vous laissiez des tonnes d'argent sur la table.

Alors que le commerce électronique n'est pas pour tout le monde. Cet atelier vous aidera à découvrir si c'est pour vous. Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour démarrer ou pour changer d'erreurs, cet atelier vous aidera! Découvrez si vous êtes prêt pour le numérique, quelles plates-formes en ligne envisager, certains avantages potentiels et stratégies de vente pour votre entreprise, et vers qui se tourner pour obtenir de l'aide sur le commerce électronique.

À propos du présentateur: Jenefeness Tucker, MBA est un coach, visionnaire, éducateur, auteur et conférencier primé. Elle a été nommée sur la liste de croissance 100 des PDG du marché intermédiaire par Axial, est apparue sur Inside Edition, présentée dans des articles et des segments sur The Successful Micropreneur, TBN's Encounter Him Series, NPR News, Fox 28 News, Successful Business News, Columbus Business Journal et Ohio MBE.

Jenefeness a occupé des postes de direction dans les entreprises américaines, à but non lucratif ainsi que dans les agences gouvernementales et fédérales ainsi que dans les petites entreprises. Jenefeness a obtenu un baccalauréat ès sciences en communication et gestion des opérations de l'Université Wilberforce (HBCU), puis peu après une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université dominicaine de l'Ohio. Elle est actuellement conseillère commerciale certifiée au Washington Small Business Development Center et adore en apprendre davantage sur l'économie et l'entrepreneuriat. Elle aime enseigner à ses étudiants à l'Université de l'État de Washington, au Seattle Central College ainsi qu'à une clientèle croissante dans 32 des 50 États des États-Unis et dans trois autres pays grâce à une assistance technique individuelle, des séminaires et dans ses livres Finesse My Life, Finesse My Budget, Finesse My Time Management et Finesse My Cashflow rédigés début avril en réponse à COVID19.

30 novembre: Développer un état d'esprit stratégique

Durée : 1 h XNUMX - XNUMX h XNUMX
Présentateur: Daryl Murrow, coach d'affaires, Murrow Group LLC

Voir la vidéo

À propos du cours: La capacité de penser stratégiquement est une compétence de leadership essentielle requise pour tous les entrepreneurs prospères axés sur la croissance.  Dans cette présentation, vous découvrirez des outils et des concepts pour vous aider à imaginer de nouvelles solutions pour surmonter les obstacles, sortir des sentiers battus, voir les opportunités que les autres manquent et rester concentré tout en évitant les distractions quotidiennes.

À propos de l'instructeur: Daryl est un auteur, conférencier et coach d'affaires qui a fourni de la formation et du coaching aux entrepreneurs depuis 2008. Il est un présentateur dynamique et apporte une narration puissante, des idées commerciales et personnelles et une énergie électrisante à toutes ses présentations. Daryl est l'instructeur du programme de formation ScaleUp depuis sa création en 2015 et a développé plusieurs cours pour les propriétaires d'entreprise, notamment Business TuneUp, Get Launched Now et Ultimate Breakthrough Experience. Avant de créer Murrow Group LLC, Daryl était copropriétaire du magasin de détail CD Connection pendant 15 ans.

30 novembre: Développement des réseaux d'investissement locaux dans l'État de Washington

Durée : 2h3
Présentateur:
Michael H. Shuman, Société des associés de quartier
Andy Meyer, Association des villes de Washington (AWC)
Anthony Gromko, Extension de l'Université de l'État de Washington (WSU)
Trevor C Lane, Ed.D. Extension de l'Université de l'État de Washington (WSU)
Deborah Stinson, Réseau d'opportunités d'investissement local (LION),
Brian Kuh, Conseil de développement économique de Jefferson
Julie Tate-Libby, TwispWorks - Réseau d'investissement Methow (MIN)
Aslan Meade, Thurston EDC - Thurston Investment Network (ThINk)
Lisa Smith, modératrice de la Washington State Microenterprise Association (WSMA)

Commanditaire :
Association des microentreprises de l'État de Washington (WSMA)

Voir la vidéo

À propos du cours: Les communautés autour de Washington ont établi des réseaux locaux d'investissement (LIN) pour permettre aux membres de la communauté d'investir dans des entreprises locales, de construire des relations communautaires durables et de développer les économies locales. Cette table ronde mettra en évidence les efforts déployés dans tout l'État pour étendre les réseaux d'investissement locaux, en particulier dans les communautés rurales. Les conférenciers partageront les points de vue nationaux, étatiques et locaux sur le pouvoir d'investir localement et la manière dont leur travail pour lancer ces réseaux d'investissement a eu un impact sur leurs communautés et la vitalité économique de leur région.

À propos des présentateurs:

Michael H. Shuman est un économiste, avocat, auteur et entrepreneur, et un visionnaire de premier plan en économie communautaire. On lui attribue d'être l'un des architectes de la loi sur l'emploi de 2012 et des dizaines de lois des États révisant la réglementation des valeurs mobilières du financement participatif. Il est l'auteur, co-auteur ou édité de dix livres, dont: Mettez votre argent là où votre vie est: Comment investir localement en utilisant Solo 401ks et des IRA auto-dirigés et The Local Economy Solution: How Innovative, Self-Financing Pollinator Enterprises Can Grow Jobs and Prospérité et dollars locaux, sens local: comment transférer votre argent de Wall Street à Main Street.

Andy Meyer, AICP, occupe le poste de coordonnateur des projets spéciaux à l'Association des villes de WA (AWC) depuis 2007. En tant que membre de l'équipe des services aux membres de l'AWC, Andy travaille avec une grande variété de villes membres, d'agences étatiques et fédérales et d'autres organisations partenaires, principalement dans les domaines de l'utilisation des sols, de la planification, de l'environnement et du développement économique. Il dirige actuellement le consortium AWC GIS, fait partie du personnel du comité consultatif des petites villes de l'AWC, et participe au développement et au développement de partenariats avec des établissements universitaires et d'autres entités. Andy a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec WSU pour étendre les réseaux d'investissement locaux à travers l'État de Washington afin de développer le guide de terrain pour l'investissement local et plus récemment l'évaluation des réseaux d'investissement locaux (LIN) 2019.

Anthony Gromko, Washington State University Extension (WSU) est un professionnel du développement économique communautaire et un éducateur avec plus de 13 ans d'expérience en milieu urbain dans l'État de Washington et à l'étranger. Il apporte une expertise dans l'engagement interculturel, la résilience économique, l'innovation dans le domaine des entreprises sociales et les partenariats multisectoriels.

Voie Trevor C, Ed.D. est un professeur associé primé et publié et un spécialiste d'État en développement communautaire et économique pour l'extension de l'Université de l'État de Washington (WSU). Son leadership relie la recherche universitaire et universitaire à la résolution de problèmes et au soutien des besoins des communautés tribales et rurales comme les réseaux d'investissement locaux et la formation entrepreneuriale, tout en utilisant la technologie pour créer des gains d'efficacité.

Deborah Stinson, Co-fondateur du Local Investing Opportunities Network (LION), Port Townsend, WA. Deborah est une décideuse chevronnée et une championne locale du développement économique durable et des investissements locaux.

Brian Kuh, Directeur exécutif du Jefferson Economic Development Council, est le siège fiscal du Local Investing Opportunities Network (LION), à Port Townsend. Brian est un ancien banquier et prêteur commercial qui travaille dans toute la péninsule olympique du Nord depuis 2004.

Julie Tate-Libby est le directeur des programmes de TwispWorks, une organisation à but non lucratif dédiée à la construction d'une économie résiliente et diversifiée dans la vallée de Methow. Elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Methow Investment Network (MIN) à Twisp, WA. Julie est également une anthropologue et chercheuse qui a beaucoup écrit sur la migration des lieux, des communautés et des aménités. Elle enseigne l'anthropologie au Wenatchee Valley College et aime le ski et les loisirs de plein air pendant son temps libre.

Aslan Meade, Directeur des alliances stratégiques, Thurston EDC, Thurston Investment Network (ThINk) Olympia WA a été à l'avant-garde de la connexion des différentes organisations et entreprises des secteurs public et privé pour créer et construire un réseau d'investissement local dans le sud de Puget Sound.

Lisa Smith, Directeur exécutif de la Washington State Microenterprise Association (WSMA). Lisa travaille pour soutenir les organisations de développement de microentreprises à travers WA qui fournissent une formation commerciale, une assistance technique et des microcrédits aux plus petites entreprises de l'État. Son travail se concentre sur l'établissement de liens pour que les partenaires de la WSMA puissent accéder au soutien du renforcement des capacités, aux ressources, aux subventions et aux opportunités de réseautage.

Global Entrepreneurship Month Schedule

Nov. 22 – 30

Nov. 23: Cooperative Development as an Economic Development Tool

Time: 9 – 10:30 a.m.
Presenters: Mike Peroni, Project Manager, NABC
Stephen Bramwell, Director and agriculture extension agent, WSU Thurston County Extension
Dave Fenn, regional farmer
Randy Mueller, CEO, Port of Chehalis
Sponsor: Northwest Agriculture Business Center (NABC)

Watch the Video

About the Course: Development pressure, loss of processing facilities, and diminished competitive advantages threaten mid-tier agriculture and agri-business throughout our state today. This is often occurring at a time when the infrastructure necessary to develop alternative product markets is not yet available. Through a panel discussion, we’ll examine how a diverse variety of regional Washington partners merged to create a grower-owned cooperative in Southwest Washington. Together, they successfully supported the ambitious development of a new market for regional grain growers.

About the Presenters: 

Mike Peroni is a Project Manager for the Northwest Agriculture Business Center (NABC) and lives with his wife and daughter in Curtis WA about 10 miles SW of Chehalis. Mike has over 30 years of experience in leadership roles supporting regional agriculture, and extensive knowledge of farm and business management, brand support, public/private partnerships, market development, organizational structure, and regulatory compliance. As part of a team dedicated to developing solutions to the issues facing agriculture in southwest Washington, his current projects include the development of aggregate grain storage and rail transload infrastructure at the Port of Chehalis, and the development of aggregation and distribution services with the capacity for value-added processing in SW WA.

Dave Fenn is one of a group of regional farmers growing out the recent OSU release ‘Thunder’ malting barley as part of a project to build a SW WA Barley program with Great Western Malting of Vancouver, WA. Dave has been instrumental in developing a regional growers’ cooperative and is an outspoken advocate for SW WA agriculture. On 270 acres, three generations of the Fenn family have produced vegetables for local processors for 65 years; up to the time that these processors either went bankrupt, or ceased issuing contracts to west side growers. Dave currently produces a variety of grains and seed crops as well as forage crops and beef, and is part of a cooperative of regional producers working hard to develop viable alternatives to the processing crops once grown in the region.

Stephen Bramwell is the Director and agriculture extension agent for WSU Thurston County Extension. He earned a Masters Degree in Soil Science from Washington State University and a Bachelor of Arts in International Community Development at the University of Washington. His areas of work include market development for local agriculture, specialty grain production, new farmer training, and conservation on working lands. Recent projects include evaluation of barley varieties for craft beverage industry, feasibility of minimally processed fruit and vegetables, regional Food Hub development, and habitat conservation grazed prairie land.

Randy Mueller is the CEO of the Port of Chehalis, and lives in Chehalis with his wife, daughter, and their retired racing greyhound. Randy has worked for public port districts for the last 14 years, with a focus on projects that create good jobs and stronger communities. He has earned a bachelor’s degree in Social Sciences from WSU, a masters degree from Portland State University in Real Estate Development and a Masters Degree in Public Administration from the University of Washington.

Nov. 23: Strategies for Business Turnaround, Survival and Exiting

Time: 11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Presenter: Steve Burke, Washington SBDC Certified Business Advisor
Sponsor: Washington Small Business Development Center

Register

About the Course: Do you feel like giving up? Many small business owners are feeling like they just can’t keep going. If you feel like the end is near, attend this webinar. We will give you some hope and some options.  Topics include: Cashflow management, funding and capital infusion, managing debt, turnaround strategies, financial discipline, survival tips, exit strategies including closing down, selling the business and bankruptcy.

Nov. 23: Getting Started with Amazon

Time: 1 – 2 p.m.
Presenter: Jennifer Kuznicki, Sr Program Manager Small Business, Amazon

Watch the Video

About the Course: This session is an introduction to the opportunities, resources and tools small businesses can leverage to grow with Amazon. We’ll walk through selling on Amazon and best practices as well as touch on other business models that use Amazon to reach customers.

Nov. 24: Pop-Ups: Fun Name, Serious Opportunities for Entrepreneurs

Time: 11 a.m. – Noon

Presenters:
Breanne Durham, Washington Main Street Director, Washington Trust for Historic Preservation
Linda Haglund, Executive Director, Wenatchee Downtown Association
Ellen Gamson, Executive Director, Mount Vernon Downtown Association
Lisa Smith, Executive Director, Washington State Microenterprise Association

Register

With entrepreneurship likely on the rise in 2021, providing spaces and services for start-up microenterprises will be a critical strategy for communities hoping to tap into this post-downturn trend. This 45-minute panel discussion will explore microbusiness and entrepreneurship opportunities, with a specific focus on Main Street-led incubator spaces. You’ll learn about two different models – a holiday pop-up market in Wenatchee that temporarily accommodated 11 small businesses and a longer-term single-tenant space in Mount Vernon. Discussion features the Washington State Microenterprise Association, the Washington State Main Street Program, Wenatchee Downtown Association and the Mount Vernon Downtown Association.

Nov. 24: Customer Service and Reviews with Amazon

Time: 1 – 2 p.m.
Presenter: Jennifer Kuznicki, Sr Program Manager Small Business, Amazon

Register

 About the Course: Learn how to support customers proactively and positively while responding to feedback in an online shopping experience. Explore ways to cultivate honest reviews and how not to lose customer trust.

Nov. 30: eCommerce Readiness and Pivot

Time: 10:30 – 11:30 a.m.
Presenter: Jenefeness Tucker, MBA, Certified Business Advisor
Sponsor: Washington Small Business Development Center

Register

About the Course: With restricted occupancy rates, stay home stay healthy orders, political/social unrest, and rising COVID19 test results, it is harder to service clients face-to-face during this time. Additionally, some customers may not be in close proximity to your local business. Being online can increase your sales/revenues to customers you wouldn’t normally be attracted to you. There are a few different ways you can get your business online successfully. It may even be possible by using an affiliate to do it for you.

Globally, online sales are anticipated to reach $4.2 trillion this year. Currently, 76% of US consumers shop online. Experts say there will be more than 300 million online shoppers in the US by 2023. If you aren’t selling online, it is likely you are leaving tons of money on the table.

While eCommerce is not for everyone. This workshop will help you discover if it is for you. If you need assistance getting started or pivoting from some mistakes, this workshop will help you! Discover if you’re digitally ready, what online platforms to consider, some potential benefits and sales strategies for your business, and where to turn for e-commerce help.

About the Presenter: Jenefeness Tucker, MBA is an Award-Winning Coach, Visionary, Educator, Author and Speaker. She was named on the 100 Growth List of Middle Market CEO’s by Axial, appeared on Inside Edition, featured in articles and segments on The Successful Micropreneur, TBN’s Encounter Him Series, NPR News, Fox 28 News, Successful Business News, Columbus Business Journal and Ohio MBE.

Jenefeness has held leadership roles in Corporate America, Non-Profit as well as State and Federal Government agencies as well as small businesses. Jenefeness received a Bachelor of Science degree in Communications and Operations Management from Wilberforce University (HBCU) and then soon after a master’s degree in business administration from Ohio Dominican University. She is currently a Certified Business Advisor with the Washington Small Business Development Center and loves to learn about Economics and Entrepreneurship. She enjoys teaching her students at Washington State University, Seattle Central College as well as growing clientele in 32 of the 50 states in the US and three other countries through one-on-one technical assistance, seminars and in her books Finesse My Life, Finesse My Budget, Finesse My Time Management and Finesse My Cashflow written at the beginning of April in response to COVID19.

Nov. 30: Developing a Strategic Mindset

Time: Noon – 1 p.m.
Presenter: Daryl Murrow, Business Coach, Murrow Group LLC

Register

About the Course: The ability to think strategically is an essential leadership skill required for all successful growth-oriented entrepreneurs.  In this presentation, you will be introduced to tools and concepts to help you envision new solutions to overcome obstacles, think outside the box, see opportunities that others miss, and maintain focus while avoiding everyday distractions.

About the Instructor: Daryl is an author, speaker, and business coach who has provided training and coaching to entrepreneurs since 2008. He is a dynamic presenter and brings powerful storytelling, business and personal insight, and electrifying energy to all his presentations.  Daryl has been the instructor of the ScaleUp Training Program since its inception in 2015 and has developed several courses for business owners including Business TuneUp, Get Launched Now, and the Ultimate Breakthrough Experience.  Prior to starting the Murrow Group LLC Daryl was the co-owner of the CD Connection retail store for 15 years.

Nov. 30: Growing Local Investment Networks in Washington State

Time: 2 -3:30 p.m.
Presenter:
Michael H. Shuman, Neighborhood Associates Corporation
Andy Meyer, Association of Washington Cities (AWC)
Anthony Gromko, Washington State University Extension (WSU)
Trevor C Lane, Ed.D. Washington State University Extension (WSU)
Deborah Stinson, Local Investing Opportunities Network (LION),
Brian Kuh, Jefferson Economic Development Council
Julie Tate-Libby, TwispWorks- Methow Investment Network (MIN)
Aslan Meade, Thurston EDC- Thurston Investment Network (ThINk)
Lisa Smith, Washington State Microenterprise Association (WSMA) Moderator

Sponsor:
Washington State Microenterprise Association (WSMA)

Register

About the Course: Communities around Washington have established Local Investment Networks (LIN) to enable community members to invest in local businesses, build lasting community relationships and grow local economies.  This panel discussion will highlight efforts throughout the state to expand Local Investment Networks, especially in rural communities. Speakers will share national, state, and local perspectives about the power of investing locally and how their work to launch these investment networks has impacted their communities and the economic vitality of their region.    

About the Presenters:

Michael H. Shuman is an economist, attorney, author, and entrepreneur, and a leading visionary on community economics.  He is credited with being one of the architects of the 2012 JOBS Act and dozens of state laws overhauling securities regulation of crowdfunding.  He has authored, coauthored, or edited ten books including: Put Your Money Where Your Life Is:  How to Invest Locally Using Solo 401ks and Self-Directed IRAs and The Local Economy Solution:  How Innovative, Self-Financing Pollinator Enterprises Can Grow Jobs and Prosperity and Local Dollars, Local Sense:  How to Shift Your Money from Wall Street to Main Street. 

Andy Meyer, AICP, has held the position of Special Projects Coordinator at the Association of WA Cities (AWC) since 2007. As a part of the Member Services team at AWC, Andy works with a wide variety of member cities, state and federal agencies and other partner organizations, primarily in the areas of land use, planning, environment and economic development. He currently manages the AWC GIS consortium, serves as staff to the AWC Small Cities Advisory Committee, as well as being involved in developing and nurturing partnerships with academic institutions and other entities.  Andy has been working closely with WSU to expand Local Investment Networks throughout Washington state to develop the Field Guide For Local Investing and more recently the 2019 Local Investment Networks (LIN) Assessment.

Anthony Gromko, Washington State University Extension (WSU) is a community economic development professional and educator with over 13 years’ experience in urban settings in both Washington State and abroad. He brings expertise in cross-cultural engagement, economic resiliency, social business innovation, and multi-sector partnerships.

Trevor C Lane, Ed.D. is an award-winning and published associate professor and state specialist in Community & Economic Development for Washington State University (WSU) Extension.  His leadership links scholarly and academic research to solving problems and supporting the needs of tribal and rural communities like local investment networks and entrepreneurial training, while using technology to create efficiencies.

Deborah Stinson, Co-Founder of Local Investing Opportunities Network (LION), Port Townsend, WA.  Deborah is a seasoned policy maker and local champion for sustainable economic development and local investment.

Brian Kuh, Executive Director of the Jefferson Economic Development Council, is the fiscal home for the Local Investing Opportunities Network (LION), Port Townsend.  Brian is a former banker and business lender who has worked throughout the North Olympic Peninsula since 2004.

Julie Tate-Libby is the Director of Programs at TwispWorks, a nonprofit dedicated to building a resilient, diverse economy in the Methow Valley. She works closely with the Methow Investment Network (MIN) in Twisp, WA.  Julie is also an anthropologist and researcher who has written extensively on place, community, and amenity migration.  She teaches anthropology for Wenatchee Valley College and enjoys skiing and outdoor recreation in her spare time.  

Aslan Meade, Director of Strategic Alliances, Thurston EDC, Thurston Investment Network (ThINk) Olympia WA has been at the forefront of connecting the different organizations and businesses from the public and private sectors to create and build a local investment network in the South Puget Sound.

Lisa Smith, Executive Director, of Washington State Microenterprise Association (WSMA).  Lisa works to support Microenterprise Development Organizations throughout WA that provide business training, technical assistance, and microloans to the smallest businesses in the state. Her work focuses on building connections for WSMA partners to access capacity building support, resources, grant funding and opportunities to network.

Translate »