如果您认为这是另一个关于戴口罩或远离社交的重要性的博客,请准备感到失望。 本月,这一切都是为了使业务复苏曲线趋于平缓,因为我们一直在等待疫苗的广泛普及以及经济最终转机的时刻。

众所周知,没有任何路线图。 我们甚至都不知道什么时候情况会恢复到现在所说的“新常态”。 有人可能会说,在商业世界中,事情从来都不是真正正常的。 市场一直处于不断变化的状态。 但是永远不要以我们什至无法抓住集体呼吸的速度,更不用说体面的休息了。

有一件事是肯定的。 我们在2020年XNUMX月之前所知道的世界已经消失了。 以前的工作可能无法继续进行。 随着我们从现在的困境中走出来,目前勉强运转的企业将需要找出一种新的商业模式,以在未来两到五年内维持下去。 完全关闭的企业的所有者将需要精力和意志来重建其现有业务或开始新的业务。

创造性解构是规则,而不是例外。 面对全球大流行,社会动荡和经济不景气,长期的安排,假设和做法正在崩溃。

在等式的创造力方面,正在释放资源和能量,这些资源和能量可用于刺激未来的创新和发明。 从创造性解构的废墟中将兴起具有新机遇的新经济。

这是企业家真正的光芒所在,因为在这个动荡的时期,他们可以成为变革的推动者,而不是受害者。

即使您已经从事了很长时间的业务,也可能在企业家的内心深处某处掷骰子并成功地建立了业务,但往往遇到了不可能的事情。 为了出现在这一历史性灾难的另一端,企业主需要重新点燃内部燃烧的创业之火。 现在是冒险的时候了。 大胆的。 现在没有时间安全玩耍。 我们欠我们自己,我们的家庭,我们的员工,我们的客户以及我们称之为家园的社区,以重塑和重建。 小型企业是经济的引擎,是新工作和新收入的主要驱动力。

为您的企业产生新想法的最好方法之一就是参与所谓的 商业画布。 与传统的业务计划不同,“业务画布”将使您能够快速评估多个想法,将其构想成败的层次,例如您的客户是谁,他们的需求和需要以及如何提供它。给他们。 在此早期阶段,所有其他复杂层都被剥离,从而提供了清晰性和目的性。

它从基本问题开始:

  • 你提供什么?
  • 谁需要您提供的服务?
  • 您满足什么需求?
  • 您将如何让他们知道您有他们的需求?
  • 您如何将其交给他们?
  • 您独特的价值主张是什么?
  • 您需要履行哪些合作伙伴的承诺?

画布的优点在于,您可以同时处理多个不同的想法,并使用相同的标准对其进行比较。 无需寻求资金。 在此阶段无需弄清所有令人讨厌的细节。 这就是测试想法并将其付诸实践,以了解上升到顶部的一切。

  • 当您考虑各种机遇(和挑战)时,请考虑哪些想法将为您的业务创造短期现金流量,哪些想法承担更多的风险,但有可能在未来产生更多的收入。
  • 专注于您的产品。 在接下来的几个月或几年中,您可能希望减少提供的产品或服务的数量。 与吸引更多选择的广泛受众相比,这可以帮助您增加利润并提高转化率。 许多餐厅已经在这样做,他们的畅销书更多 菜单有限。 例如,IHOP从12页菜单变为两页。
  • 考虑一下随着疫苗的到来,经济开始全面开放,需求将在哪里。 您是否可以通过重新思考您的商业模式来做更快,更便宜或更好的事情? 您可以用更少的人员或地点来管理业务吗? 哪些元素是您业务的核心,哪些不是必需的,甚至不是奢侈品?
  • 客户在变化。 如果除了我们是习惯性生物的事实之外,他们可能不会重蹈覆辙。 那么,何时以及如果发生这种情况,机会在哪里? 您能提供其他人无法提供的目标受众吗? 同样,您可以满足什么需求或欲望?
  • 花时间评估您的劳动力需求。 员工是任何企业的最大成本。 在重新配置业务时,请考虑您真正需要的人以及在恢复的哪个阶段。
  • 与您的客户交谈。 它们是您需要前往的最佳指示。 使用我们的进行研究 SizeUp工具,进行调查并使用“缩放”进行焦点小组讨论。
  • 摆脱旧的空间,为新的空间腾出空间。 现在是时候卖掉一无所获的旧库存了。 清除旧的或过剩的设备。 减少您的足迹。 与新供应商交谈。 考虑一下您过去由内部承包商提供哪些内部服务,包括市场营销,会计,维护等。
  • 定期与您的客户和其他利益相关者就您对公司的新愿景进行沟通。 让他们保持知情和参与,以便他们在最终准备出售时准备购买。

 

灵活性将是压缩恢复曲线的关键。 通过将您的企业家才能与功能强大的工具(例如“业务画布”)相结合,您将能够在新经济中找到新的机会,这些机会将帮助您在我们最终转危为安时重建和重新发明您的业务。

在西雅图以北的某个地方,洗劫车库,寻找我的水晶球,

–罗伯

If you were thinking this was another blog about the importance of wearing a mask or social distancing, prepare to be disappointed. This month it’s all about flattening the business recovery curve as we look down the road to the time when a vaccine becomes widely available and the economy finally turns the corner.

As we all know, there is no roadmap for any of this. We don’t even know when things will return to what is now being referred to as the “new normal.” One could make the argument that things have never been really normal in the business world. The marketplace has always been in a constant state of change. But never at a pace where we can’t even catch our collective breath, let alone a decent break.

One thing is for sure. The world we knew before March 2020 is largely gone. What worked before may not work going forward. Businesses that are barely hanging on now will need to figure out a new business model to sustain them for the next two to five years as we climb back out of the hole we find ourselves in right now. Owners of businesses that closed completely will need to find the energy and willpower to rebuild their existing business or start a new one.

Creative deconstruction is the rule rather than the exception. Long-standing arrangements, assumptions and practices are crumbling in the face of a global pandemic, social unrest and a sagging economy.

On the creative side of the equation, resources and energy are being freed up that can be used to spur innovation and invention going forward. From the ashes of creative deconstruction will rise a new economy with new opportunities.

This is where the entrepreneur truly shines, for in this period of upheaval, they can become agents of change rather than victims.

Even if you’ve been in business for a long time, somewhere deep inside resides the entrepreneur who rolled the dice and built a successful business, often against impossible odds. To emerge on the other side of this historic travail, business owners need to rekindle the entrepreneurial fire that burns inside. This is the time to take risks. Bold ones. This is no time to play it safe. We owe it to ourselves, our family, our employees, our customers and the communities we call home to reinvent and rebuild. Small businesses are the engine of the economy and the primary driver of new jobs and new revenue.

One of the best ways to generate new ideas for your business is to engage in what is known as a Business Canvas. Unlike a traditional business plan, a Business Canvas will allow you to quickly assess multiple ideas, boiling them down to the make-or-break level, like who your customers are, what they want and need, and how you are going to provide it to them. All the other layers of complexities are stripped away in this early stage, providing clarity and purpose.

It starts with the fundamental questions:

  • What are you offering?
  • Who needs what you have to offer?
  • What desires or needs are you meeting?
  • How are you going to let them know you have what they need?
  • How are you going to get it to them?
  • What is your unique value proposition?
  • Which partners do you need to deliver on your promise?

The beauty of a Canvas is you can work on several different ideas at the same time and compare them using the same criteria. No need to seek funding. No need to figure all the pesky details at this stage. This is all about testing ideas and putting it pen to paper to see what rises to the top.

  • As you consider various opportunities (and challenges), think about which ideas will create near-term cash flow for your business and which ones carry more risk but can potentially generate more revenue down the road.
  • Focus on your offerings. For the next months or years, you may want to reduce the number of products or services you offer. This can help you increase profits and give you a higher conversion rate than courting a wider audience with more selection. Many restaurants are already doing this, offering their best sellers in a more limited menu. For example, IHOP went from a 12-page menu to two pages.
  • Think about where the need will be as a vaccine becomes available and the economy begins to reopen fully. Can you do things faster, cheaper or better by rethinking your business model? Can you manage the business with fewer people or locations? What elements are core to your business, and which ones aren’t essential or even luxuries?
  • Customers are changing. They may not go back to their old ways, if for no other reason than the fact that we are creatures of habit. So, where are the opportunities when and if this happens? What can you offer your target audience that others can’t? Again, what need or desire can you fill?
  • Take the time to evaluate your workforce needs. Employees are the biggest cost to any business. As you reconfigure your business, think about who you really need and at what stage of recovery you need them.
  • Talk to your customers. They are the best indicator of where you need to be headed. Conduct research using our SizeUp tool, conduct surveys and do focus groups using Zoom.
  • Get rid of the old and make room for the new. Now is the time to sell off old inventory that wasn’t selling anyway. Get rid of old or surplus equipment. Reduce your footprint. Talk to new suppliers. Think about what services you used to do in-house – marketing, accounting, maintenance, etc. – that can be performed by outside contractors.
  • Communicate regularly with your customers and other stakeholders about your new vision for the company. Keep them informed and engaged so they will be ready to buy when you’re finally ready to sell.

 

Flexibility will be the key to a compressed recovery curve. By combining your entrepreneurial prowess with a powerful tool like the Business Canvas, you’ll be able to find new opportunities in the new economy, opportunities that will help you rebuild and re-invent your business as we finally turn the corner.

Somewhere north of the Seattle, ransacking the garage, looking for my crystal ball,

– Robb

Translate »