在我撰写本文时,全球大流行的乌云笼罩着我们。 规模庞大,规模宏大的企业的所有长期计划都已退出市场,因为曾经繁华的经济在短短的六个星期前就停了下来。

这使我们想知道:我们从这里去哪里?

近期答案是我们不确定。 经济上没有开关的开关。 它更像是您慢慢转动的表盘。 好消息是,一些建筑和户外娱乐活动正在重新开始,其他行业也在排队。

社会隔离将成为大多数企业的新规范。 商店,饭店和车间将需要采用新的清洁标准。 小型企业可能必须限制交通,计量一次允许购物,饮食的人数。

我们所有人都必须学会变得更有弹性,尤其是在出现第二波甚至第三波的情况下。 企业不仅需要找到在不确定的未来中成长和繁荣的新方法,而且还需要找到在更智能,更敏捷的另一面崛起的方法。

这就要求小企业主学习新技能,采用新思维方式,教给员工新的工作方式,并学习如何在赚钱和为下一个雨天储蓄之间走出一条很好的界限。

就像现在看起来困难一样,他们可能会变得更加艰难。 随着越来越多的数据可用,我们可能会面临几个月前无法想象的困难。 我们作为商人,雇主和企业家的勇气将随时受到考验。

在我经营自己的企业的20年中,我一直在与残酷的竞争,市场的剧烈变化,两次衰退的起伏和不知所措的夜晚和几周的不眠之夜作斗争。从。

不过,我坚持不懈。 即使在今天,我仍然不禁思索当我们战胜这种病毒时下一个商机将在哪里。 我一直被企业家的灵魂和灵魂祝福(或被诅咒)。

当我们努力应对这一新常态时,企业主和领导者需要充分发挥企业家精神,并促使他们首先从事业务。 众所周知,小企业是推动这个国家,推动创新和创造就业机会的引擎。 该州的经济以及大小社区的工人的未来,取决于小型企业如何依靠自己的引导力来重新振作起来并重新构想和重建。

如果您的业务不再可行,那么就该进行新的尝试了,适合新世界的尝试正在进入。 如果您可以重新启动,该是时候重新考虑您的业务方式,以适应不断变化的市场和不断变化的客户期望。

为了帮助您踏上这一旅程,我们开发了一些程序和在线资源来激发新企业的想法,让您在开绿灯并增强业务弹性的前提下回到正轨。

返回工作计划器

为了帮助您在被批准后可以重新营业,我们整理了一系列有用的清单,可在重新营业之前和期间使用。 我们也正在努力地设计第二个计划器,为您做好准备,以备可能在遇到另一波浪潮时减少或关闭未来的运营,希望减轻痛苦和痛苦。

放大:COVID版

ScaleUp是针对收入超过100,000美元的“妈妈和妈妈”业务的在线系列,重点关注大流行世界中的财务,业务系统,营销和运营。 虚拟教室是培训课程,圆桌会议和小组讨论的组合,最多可容纳100位企业主。 它基于Thurston商业创新中心非常成功的ScaleUp计划,但重点是弹性,尤其是考虑到COVID-19。 报名将于30月10日(星期四)上午XNUMX点开始

华盛顿Peerspectives®

这项新的试点计划专为在遭受大流行影响的经济中面临类似挑战的中型第二阶段公司而设计。 CEO可以在不限15名决策者的私人开放论坛中分享想法,最佳实践和观点。 与爱德华·劳威基金会合作开发的三个为时两小时的视频会议为企业领导者提供了机会,就影响弹性和增长战略的问题进行交流。

业务启动手册

如果您是初次创业或创业,我们的Playbook将引导您完成所有步骤,并附上有用的提示和提示,以活泼的体育主题格式帮助您开启成功的生意,由您自己的教练完成。

 

Commerce的“农村,小型企业和营销计划”部门正在制定另外两个小型企业计划,一个计划专注于危机时期的决策,另一个计划向刚开始的工人传授创业精神。

充满挑战的时代 是一个导入程序 ive壮成长!,旨在帮助第二阶段的公司实现指数级增长。 在这个圆桌会议上,企业领导者了解了大脑对危机的本能反应,以及如何使用它来改善决策,超越危机阶段,重新激发精力并重新组织组织以将挑战转化为新机遇。 由爱德华·劳威基金会(Edward Lowe Foundation)的专家将在三天的时间内进行为期两个小时的在线会议。 准备就绪后,您会在我们的网站上找到它 启动圆桌会议页面.

我们的 创业大师班, 所以你想成为一名企业家, 旨在教授如何在华盛顿州开展业务的基础知识。 将于今年夏天启动时,它将与成功的企业家一起提供信息丰富的会议,逐节课的工作簿,测验和与同学的虚拟交流机会。 自我指导的在线课程将为您提供成为华盛顿州成功企业家的宝贵见解,技巧和秘密。

小型企业和企业家可以在Commerce网站上访问所有这些程序, Startup.ChooseWashingtonState.com 并且是免费的。

在华盛顿州的某个地方,帮助我们的小企业在困难时期取得成功。 注意安全! 保持健康!

  • 罗伯

The storm clouds of a global pandemic are hovering over us as I write this. All the long-range plans of businesses large and small have gone out the window as a once-bustling economy unexpectedly ground to a halt just six short weeks ago.

Which leads us to wonder: Where do we go from here?

The near-term answer is we’re not exactly sure. The economy doesn’t have a switch you turn on and off. It’s more like a dial that you turn slowly. The good news is that some construction and outdoor recreation activities are restarting now and other industries are in the queue.

Social distancing will become the new norm for most businesses. Stores, restaurants and shop floors will need to adopt new standards of cleanliness. Small establishments may have to restrict traffic, metering the number of people allowed to shop, eat or drink at a time.

All of us will have to learn to become more resilient, especially if there’s a second or even third wave. Businesses will not only need to find new ways to grow and prosper in the midst of an uncertain future, but find ways to emerge on the other side, smarter and more agile.

This requires small business owners to learn new skill sets, adopt new ways of thinking, teach employees a new way to work, and learn how to walk that fine line between making a buck and saving for the next rainy day.

As hard as things seem now, they may get even harder down the road. As more data becomes available, we may struggle through hardships that we could never have imagined just a few months ago. Our mettle as business people, employers and entrepreneurs will be tested at every turn.

During the 20 years that I ran my own business, I’ve battled cutthroat competition, seismic shifts in the marketplace, the ups and downs of two recessions, and sleepless nights and weeks when I didn’ know where the next dollar was going to come from.

Still, I persevered. Even today, I can’t help but think about where the next business opportunities will be as we conquer this virus. I’ve been blessed (or cursed) with the heart and soul of an entrepreneur.

As we grapple with this new normal, business owners and leaders need to tap into the spirit of entrepreneurship and drive that caused them to go into business in the first place. As we all know, small businesses are the engine that drives this nation, fuels innovation and creates jobs. The state’s economy – and the future of workers in communities large and small – depends on small businesses to pull themselves up by their bootstraps and reimagine and rebuild again.

If your business is no longer viable, it’s time to create a new endeavor, one that fits the new world are entering. If you can restart, it’s time to rethink the way you are doing business to accommodate the shifting marketplace and changing customer expectations.

To help you embark on this journey, we have developed several programs and online resources to spur ideation for new enterprises, get you back on track once you’re given the green light to open and increase the resiliency of your business.

Back to Work Planner

To help you reopen your business after you’ve been cleared to do so, we’ve put together a helpful series of checklists that you can use before and during your reopening cycle. We’re also hard at work on a second planner that prepares you for the possibility of having to reduce or close operations down the road if another wave strikes, hopefully with less pain and anguish.

ScaleUp: The COVID Edition

Geared toward “mom and pop” businesses that have revenues over $100,000, ScaleUp is an online series that focuses on finances, business systems, marketing and operations in a pandemic world. The virtual classroom is a combination of training sessions, roundtables and small group discussions for up to 100 business owners. It is based on the Thurston Center for Business Innovation’s highly successful ScaleUp program, but with an emphasis on resiliency, especially in light of COVID-19. Registration opens Thursday, April 30 at 10 a.m.

Washington Peerspectives®

This new pilot program is designed for mid-size, second-stage companies that face similar challenges in a pandemic-afflicted economy. CEOs can share ideas, best practices and perspectives in a private, open forum limited to 15 decision-makers. Developed in partnership with the Edward Lowe Foundation, the three two-hour video conferences offer business leaders the chance to connect on issues that are affecting resiliency and growth strategies.

The Business Startup Playbook

If you’re starting over or starting a business for the first time, our Playbook will walk you through all the steps, complete with helpful tips and hints that will help you open an run a successful business, all in a lively sports-themed format, complete with your own coach.

 

Commerce’s Rural, Small Business & Marketing Programs unit is working on two other small business programs, one focused on decision-making in times of crisis and one that teaches entrepreneurship to workers who are starting over.

Thriving in Challenging Times is a lead-in program to Thrive!, designed to help second-stage companies achieve exponential growth. In this roundtable, business leaders learn about the brain’s instinctual response to a crisis and how to use it to improve decision-making, move beyond the crisis stage and re-energize and refocus the organization to turn challenges into new opportunities. The two-hour online sessions are conducted over the course of three days by experts from the Edward Lowe Foundation. When it’s ready to go, you’ll find it on our Startup Roundtable page.

Our Entrepreneurship Masterclass, So You Want to Be an Entrepreneur, is designed to teach the basics of how to start a business in Washington State. When launched this summer, it will feature informative sessions with successful entrepreneurs, a lesson-by-lesson workbook, quizzes and virtual networking opportunities with classmates. The self-guided online coursework will provide you with invaluable insights, tips and secrets about being a successful entrepreneur in Washington State.

All of these programs can be accessed on Commerce’s site for small businesses and entrepreneurs – Startup.ChooseWashingtonState.com and are free.

Somewhere in Washington State, helping our small businesses succeed in difficult times. Stay safe! Stay healthy!

  • Robb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Translate »