企业家是当今时代的摇滚明星,也是通往经济复苏和繁荣的道路,这已不是什么秘密。

我成年后的大部分时间都是企业家。 我创办了两家公司,两家非营利组织,但当我为该州指导小型企业计划时,仍然无法摆脱那个创业缺陷。 我坚信几乎每个人都有能力实现拥有和经营成功的小型企业的梦想。

即使在这些充满挑战的时期,华盛顿也有新的业务开始,并且自成立之初就定义了该州的企业家精神依然活跃。

一个很好的例子是Aurora桥脚下的Canlis。 大流行爆发时,马克和布莱恩·坎利斯(Brian Canlis)在西雅图的奥罗拉大桥(Aurora Bridge)脚下转移了他们的豪华就餐体验。 他们希望尽可能保持团队的忙碌和完好无损,而他们的面包和黄油,decade废的晚餐并不会在一个远离社会的世界中消除它。

因此,兄弟俩在某个时候开了一个直通汉堡店,然后在夏天在他们的停车场开了一家自助餐厅。 他们的最新枢纽–以及他们的10th 想法– Canlis社区学院,这是一个成熟的社区学院体验,一直到学校商店里都装满大学服装。 在两周内,他们招收了12,000名学生,每人25美元。 尽管数字本身令人印象深刻,但新收入为300,000美元,其中很大一部分捐赠给了 票价开始 –真正令人鼓舞的是第三代家族企业的进取精神。

他们的持续发展是成为企业家意味着什么的体现。 开展业务需要您不断创新以保持相关性。 时间在变化,客户偏好在变化,整个市场也在变化。 无论您经营60分钟还是60年,这都是野兽的天性。 创业精神是您需要掌握的技能,并且需要在您拥有多年的企业所有权后继续加以拥抱。

这是全球创业月!

每年,我们通过举办全球创业月(GEM)庆祝华盛顿的创业。 截止到今年,GEM意味着居民将参加数百场现场活动。 但是,鉴于安全的启动指南和全球性的大流行,我们需要实践我们的讲道并重新考虑今年的计划。

答案是: 互动在线网络研讨会的非凡阵容 市场,融资,业务运营,出口等方面的专家参与。 几乎有50个现场活动,以及许多按需录制的会话。

在整个月中,您将有机会从各自领域的知名专家那里掌握所有企业家所需的技能。 所有会议均免费提供给华盛顿居民。 在商务部,我们认为您应该将钱用于在这个特殊时期开始和发展业务,而不是用于培训和教育。

欢迎来到我们的新企业家学院

但是为什么要停在那里? 早在三月,我们就知道,在我们控制流行病并着眼于经济复苏时,企业家精神比以往任何时候都更为重要。 因此,我们开始着手建立两个新的技能培养学院。 首先是新的 企业家学院,它汇集了11位不同的专家,为可能的企业家提供创业所需的教育和见识。

每节课都包括一位主题专家提供的视频课程,在线和可下载的工作簿,自我指导的作业和测验。 您可以在一天中的任何时候或一周中的任何一天参加该学院。 它始终是开放的,对居民免费。 随着我们的前进,我们希望在课程清单中增加更多的课程,因为我们的“学生团体”可以识别更多的学习机会。

当前的主题包括如何将构想转变为业务,了解社会目的公司的构想,如何使用业务画布快速创建您的业务构想原型,选择正确的业务结构,进行小规模营销,建立有效的供应链以及如何避免常见错误。

您可能已经注意到我们提到了两个学院。 最近,我们开始了所谓的Restart Academy的工作,该学院将向经验丰富的业务专家传授在未来数月和数年内重新启动业务或创办全新企业所需的技能。 暂定的主题包括维护公共健康和建立信任,聘用最优秀的员工,使用技术创造运营效率和机会以及如何在重新开始时保持精神健康。 您可以在春季的Restart Academy上期待更多。

成长的空间。

当然,这些只是我们为企业家,初创企业和小型企业专门设计的最新程序和工具。 您可以在以下位置找到更多资源 MyStartup365.com,包括我们受欢迎的 放大 使您能够运行各种财务方案,研究竞争对手并评估市场的工具; 我们的 小型企业手册,这是创业和运营的基本指南; 并为妇女,退伍军人和少数族裔拥有的企业链接资源。

随着您业务的增长,MyStartup365也与您一起发展,使您可以访问我们广受好评的 放大 计划,该计划针对的是拥有一两年时间的“妈妈和流行”企业。 华盛顿透视 是一个便利的商业领袖圆桌会议,使首席执行官可以讨论感兴趣的问题并分享最佳实践,并且 ive壮成长! 适用于仅需一点额外帮助的,即将出口,寻求投资或开放并购的第二阶段企业。

你还在等什么?

如果您一直想创业,那么现在是个好时机。 随着经济开始转弯,将出现前所未有的新机遇。 成为自己的老板,没有比这更令人满意的了。 我知道。 在加入国家之前,我做了20年的工作,以便我可以帮助其他人实现他们创办,拥有和经营小企业的梦想。 这是我职业生涯中最满意的事情之一。

西雅图北部,渴望进入冬天,初创公司的愿景在我脑海中翩翩起舞,

  • 罗伯

It’s no secret that entrepreneurs are the rock stars of our current times and the pathway to economic recovery and prosperity down the road.

I’ve been an entrepreneur for most of my adult life. I started two companies, two nonprofits and still can’t shake that entrepreneurial bug as I direct small business programs for the state. I truly believe that nearly everyone has the ability to follow their dreams of owning and operating a successful small business.

Even in these challenging times, new business starts are up in Washington, and the entrepreneurial spirit that has defined this state since its earliest days is alive and well.

A good example is Canlis at the foot of Aurora Bridge. When the pandemic struck, Mark and Brian Canlis pivoted their luxurious dining experience at the foot of the Aurora Bridge in Seattle. They wanted to keep their team busy and intact as much as possible, and their bread and butter, decadent dinners, wasn’t going to cut it in a socially distanced world.

So the brothers opened a drive-thru burger joint at one point, then a drive-in theater in their parking lot during the summer. Their latest pivot – and their 10th idea – is Canlis Community College, a full-blown community college experience right down to a school store filled with college apparel. Within two weeks, they had 12,000 students enrolled at $25 each. While the numbers themselves are impressive – $300,000 in new revenue with a large portion donated to Farestart –  it’s the can-do spirit of this third-generation family business that’s truly inspiring.

Their continual pivots are the very embodiment of what it means to be an entrepreneur. Being in business requires you to continually reinvent to stay relevant. Times change, customer preferences change, and entire markets change. It’s the nature of the beast, whether you’ve been in business 60 minutes or 60 years. Entrepreneurship is a skill you need to master and continue to embrace throughout your years of business ownership.

It’s Global Entrepreneurship Month!

Every year, we celebrate entrepreneurship in Washington by hosting Global Entrepreneurship Month (GEM). Until this year, GEM meant several hundred in-person events residents would attend in their communities. But given safe start guidelines and a global pandemic, we needed to practice what we preach and rethink what we were going to do this year.

The answer is an exceptional lineup of interactive online webinars featuring experts in marketing, financing, business operations, exporting and more. Almost 50 live events, and numerous on-demand taped sessions.

Throughout the month, you’ll have the chance to master the skills all entrepreneurs need from well-known experts in their respective fields. All the sessions are offered at no cost to Washington residents. At the Department of Commerce, we believe you should be putting your money toward starting and building your business in these exceptional times, not on training and education.

Welcome to our new Entrepreneur Academy

But why stop there? Back in March, we knew entrepreneurship would be more important than ever as we navigated the pandemic and looked to economic recovery. So we started work on two new skill-building academies. First out of the gate is the new Entrepreneur Academy, which brings together 11 different experts to provide would-be entrepreneurs with the education and insights needed to start a business.

Each session includes a video lesson from one of our subject matter experts, an online and downloadable workbook, self-guided assignments and a quiz. You can attend the academy at any hour of the day or any day of the week. It is always open and at no cost to residents. As we go forward, we hope to add additional lessons to the course list as our “student body” identifies additional learning opportunities.

Current subjects include how to turn an idea into business, a look at the idea of social purpose corporations, how to use a business canvas to rapidly prototype your business ideas, choosing the right business structure, marketing on a shoestring, building an efficient supply chain and how to avoid common mistakes.

You might have noticed that we mentioned two academies. Recently, we began work on what we call Restart Academy, which will teach seasoned business pros the skills needed to restart their business or start an entirely new enterprise in the months and years ahead. Tentative subjects include safeguarding public health and building trust, hiring the best employees, using technology to create operational efficiencies and opportunities, and how to stay mentally fit while starting over. You can expect more on the Restart Academy in the spring.

Room to grow.

Of course, these are just our newest programs and tools designed specifically for entrepreneurs, startups and small businesses. You can find more of resources at MyStartup365.com, including our popular SizeUp tool that allows you to run various financial scenarios, research competitors and assess markets; our Small Business Playbook, which is a nuts and bolts guide to starting and running a business; and linked resources for women, veteran and minority-owned businesses.

As your business grows, MyStartup365 grows with you, giving you access to our highly acclaimed ScaleUp program, which is geared toward “mom and pop” businesses that have a year or two under their belt. Washington Peerspectives is a facilitated business leader roundtable that allows CEOs to discuss issues of interest and share best practices, And Thrive! is for growing second-stage businesses that are on the verge of exporting, seeking investment or open to merger or acquisition with just a little extra help.

So what are you waiting for?

If you’ve always wanted to start a business, now is a great time. As the economy begins to turn the corner, new opportunities will arise as never before. Nothing is more satisfying than being your own boss. I would know. I did it for 20 years before joining the state so that I could help others realize their dreams of starting, owning and operating a small business. It’s one the most satisfying things I’ve done in my professional career.

North of Seattle, hunkered in for the beginning of winter, visions of startups dancing in my head,

  • Robb

 

Translate »