金钱至少可以使商业世界运转。 正如汤姆·沃尔夫(Tom Wolfe)在《正确的东西》中指出的那样,“没有钱,没有钱罗杰斯”。

在Commerce,我们从企业主那里收到大量电子邮件,这些企业正在寻找财务资源来保存其当前业务或开展新业务。

不幸的是,国家的双手在很大程度上被束缚。 国家宪法禁止将纳税人的资金提供或借给私人企业。 我们已经设法利用无人认领的彩票资金和联邦基金将大约20万美元的小企业赠款加在一起,而宪法没有相同的限制。

但是长期的问题仍然存在:当你没有钱时,如何开始做生意来赚钱?

大流行之前,我们为企业家和小企业主创建了一个指南,称为 创业智慧,提高企业资本的27条策略。 在其中,我们探讨了每种策略的优缺点。 在即将于十月首次亮相的即将到来的企业家学院中,将更深入地介绍这些途径中的许多途径。 但是现在,让我们快速看一下为新企业提供资金的一些更常见的方法。

自己掏腰包

超过三分之二的企业都是以个人储蓄或投资来支付启动成本的方式启动的。 我是在Dot Com破产后创办自己的公司时做到这一点的。 我使用Egghead Software的遣散费包购买了新的计算机,打印机,书桌和椅子,并用尽了我的信用卡,这是34%的新企业主使用的另一种自筹资金策略。 自筹业务资金会使您从一开始就处于负现金流状况,但这是引导业务的非常常见的方式。

捡别人的口袋

超过五分之一的受访业主表示,他们要求家人和朋友投资他们的想法。 考虑到如果您的新主意持平的话,您可能会把人际关系置于危险之中,那么风险就不同了。 即使这样,这也是建立业务的一种相当流行的方式。 只是知道,如果事情向南走,您可能会变得“陌生”或“陌生”。

再次贷款

贷款人希望您参与其中。 要获得贷款,您将需要动用总额的三分之一左右,其中可能包括以资产形式提供一些抵押品。 无论您做什么,都不要将自己的房子挂在网上,无论您多么确定自己的业务将成功。 您需要有一个非常出色的信用等级,并证明您的企业可以赚钱。 在寻求商业贷款时,信用合作社可以作为一种选择,因为您不仅是贷款的接受者,而且还是股东。 因此,您可能会获得更优惠的条件,尤其是对于现有企业而言,这是一笔相对较小的贷款。

加入人群

您可能听说过Kickstarter,Indiegogo和Crowdfunder.com。 这些众筹网站取得了一些传奇性的成就(爆炸小猫)和灾难性故障( 最酷的冷却器)。 也就是说,众筹是一种为产品或业务提供资金的行之有效的方法。 请注意:您必须成为出色的推动者。 在这些站点之一上列出一个想法并不意味着它会吸引人或获得资助。 您必须自己进行所有的宣传和营销工作,才能说服人们为您的新事业提供资金。 一旦开始众筹活动,时钟就会开始计时。 如果您没有达到预期的目标,那么这笔钱将返还给潜在的投资者。

寻求投资

这是一条更困难的融资途径,部分原因是需要克服的困难很多。 联邦政府严格监管投资。 众所周知,天使投资人会投资于初创企业,甚至有人将导师制作为奖励。 作为回报,他们将希望以期票,带息的递延还款或将债务转换为公司股权的形式来回报时间和金钱。 他们可能还需要决策角色,这意味着您需要放弃一些控制权以换取投资。 在考虑此策略之前,请做好功课。 通常你只会对天使一枪。 您想确定该合资企业适合您俩。

一些鲜为人知的选择…

该州服务欠缺地区的历史上处于劣势的企业和小企业主面临其他挑战,例如更高的利率,更低的总贷款额或额外的贷款要求。

一种潜在的途径是 社区发展机构基金,这是一个由银行和信用合作社组成的网络,可为传统上被排斥在金融主流之外的人们提供服务。 他们不仅可以为您的小型企业或微型企业提供资金,而且许多贷方可以帮助您获得金融知识,提高信用评分或制定储蓄策略。

小额贷款 是另一种选择。 小额贷款非常适合启动阶段的企业。 这些贷款在500美元到35,000美元之间,由私人机构和小型企业管理局提供资金。 像常规商业贷款一样,您将需要提交一份正式的商业计划。

鉴于我们的书有27种不同的策略,我们在这里几乎没有涉及任何内容。 有关从传统到高度创意的更多新途径来资助您的新业务,产品或服务的信息,请查看 创业智慧,提高企业资本的27条策略.

在大西雅图地区,梦想着新的商业冒险,只为 基金 其中,

  • 罗伯

Money makes the world go round, at least when it comes to the world of business. As Tom Wolfe pointed out in The Right Stuff, “no bucks, no Buck Rogers.”

Here at Commerce, we get tons of emails from business owners who are looking for financial resources to save their current business or start a new one.

Unfortunately, the state’s hands are largely tied. The state constitution prohibits taxpayer funds from being given or loaned to private enterprises. We have managed to put together some $20 million in small business grants using unclaimed lottery money and federal funds, which don’t have the same constitutional limitations.

But the long-term question remains: How do you start a business to make money when you don’t have any money?

Before the pandemic, we created a guide for entrepreneurs and small business owners called Startup Wisdom, 27 Strategies for Raising Business Capital. In it, we explore the advantages and disadvantages of each strategy. Many of these pathways will be covered in greater depth in our upcoming Entrepreneur Academy, set to debut in October. But for now, let’s take a quick look at some of the more common methods of funding a new enterprise.

Pick your own pockets

More than two-thirds of all businesses start this way, using personal savings or investments to cover startup costs. I did this when I started my own business on the heels of the Dot Com bust. I used my severance package from Egghead Software to buy a new computer, printer, desk and chair and ran up my credit card a bit, which is another self-funding strategy used by 34% of new business owners. Self-funding your business puts you in a negative cash flow position from the start, but it is a very common way to bootstrap your business.

Pick someone else’s pocket

More than one-fifth of owners surveyed said they asked family and friends to invest in their idea. This has a different level of risk, given that you may be putting personal relationships on the line if your new idea falls flat. Even so, it’s a fairly popular way to build a business. Just know that you may be “Unfriended” or “Unfamilied” if things go south.

A loan again

Lenders want you to have skin in the game. To get a loan, you’ll need to kick in about a third of the total amount, which may include offering up some collateral in the form of assets. Whatever you do, don’t put your home on the line, no matter how certain you are that your business will succeed. You need to have a pretty stellar credit rating and demonstrate that your business will make money. Credit unions can be an option when seeking a business loan since you are not only a loan recipient but a shareholder as well. As such, you may get more favorable terms, especially if it’s a relatively small loan for an existing business.

Join the crowd

You’ve probably heard of Kickstarter, Indiegogo and Crowdfunder.com. These crowdfunding sites have had some legendary successes (Exploding Kittens) and catastrophic failures (the Coolest Cooler). That said, crowdfunding is a proven way to fund a product or business. Just one caveat: you need to be an excellent promoter. Listing an idea on one of these sites doesn’t mean it will gain traction or be funded. You have to do all the outreach and marketing yourself to convince people to finance your new endeavor. Once you start a crowdfunding campaign, the clock starts ticking. If you don’t reach your intended goal, the money goes back to the would-be investors.

Seek investment

This is a more difficult path for funding, in part because there are so many hoops to jump through. The federal government tightly regulates investing. Angel investors have been known to invest in startups, and some even toss in mentorship as a bonus. In return, they will want a return on their time and money in the form of a promissory note, deferred repayments with interest, or converting the debt into equity in your company. They may also want a decision-making role, meaning you need to give up some control in return for the investment. Before you consider this strategy, do your homework. You usually only get one shot at an angel. You want to be sure the venture is a good fit for both of you.

Some lesser-known options…

Historically disadvantaged businesses and small business owners in underserved parts of the state face additional challenges, such as higher interest rates, lower total loan amounts or additional lending requirements.

One potential avenue is the Community Development Institutions Fund, which is a network of banks and credits unions that serve those who have been traditionally left out of the financial mainstream. They cannot only help fund your small business or microenterprise, but many lenders help you gain financial literacy, improve your credit score or develop a savings strategy.

Microloans are another option. Microloans are well suited for businesses in the startup phase. These loans are in the $500 to $35,000 range and are funded through private institutions and the Small Business Administration. Like regular business loans, you will need to present a formal business plan.

Given that our book has 27 different strategies, we’ve barely scratched the surface here. For more proven ways to fund your new business, product or service, from the very traditional to the highly creative, check out Startup Wisdom, 27 Strategies for Raising Business Capital.

In the greater Seattle area, dreaming of new business adventures, just for the fund of it,

  • Robb
Translate »